Chachic's Book Nook

Ten Non-Scary Books for Halloween

18 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. While I’m aware of what Halloween is because of pop culture, it’s not really a Filipino tradition. We have All Saints’ Day and All Souls’ Day instead, which are days dedicated to visiting memorial or burial sites for loved ones who have passed away. And yes, we grew up telling ghost stories and scaring each other on these dates too. I’m a big scaredy cat though, so I don’t watch horror films or read scary books. I do think there are some non-scary atmospheric reads for Halloween, that would be great for scaredy cats like me. Some are a bit creepy, some have ghosts or zombies or other dark supernatural creatures. In no particular order, here are my recommendations:

Murder on Balete Drive Archivist Wasp Bone Gap Scorpio Races UK Sabriel

A Monster Calls Sorrow's Knot Black Dog Magic Bites new cover Angel's Blood new cover

What about the rest of you, what are some of your recommended Halloween or All Souls’ Day reads?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Ten Non-Scary Books for Halloween

  1. You know, I’m not a big fan of scary movies, but I do enjoy a scary book. Not outright terrifying, but I am a sucker for ghost stories.

    Definitely The Scorpio Races! I haven’t read any of the others.

    • Sounds like you’re braver than me if you enjoy ghost stories. 🙂 From my list, Archivist Wasp is the one that has ghosts in it so you might want to check it out.

  2. Oh, I love that you went this route with your Top Ten Tuesday post! I definitely grew up visiting and honoring the dead, but I also really love dressing up in costume for Halloween 😉 Love your picks, but particularly The Scorpio Races and Sabriel!

    • You’ve experienced both Filipino and American Halloween traditions. 🙂 Yep, both The Scorpio Races and Sabriel were really good reads. I hope you get to try the other books in my list!

  3. I’ve been wanting to read Sabriel. Seeing it on your list reminds me of it heheh. Happy reading! https://ireadboooks.wordpress.com/2015/10/27/my-top-5-halloween-reading-recommendations/

  4. The Scorpio Races isn’t scary or horror-y but it’s quite chilling! And a perfect read for Halloween and October 🙂 My TTT.

  5. from a fellow scaredy-cat, thank you for this list! 🙂 My TTT

  6. Hi! I’m too scared for scary books too 🙂
    My TTT
    Leslie

  7. Refreshing list 😀 Esp compared to all the horror and scare titles out there 🙂 I’ll be honest I’ve not read horror in a long time, some supernatural stuff maybe but not all out horror. I’ve finally gotten around to reading “A Monster Calls” and so far I’m enjoying it! That is my present Halloween read, that and Alistair Grim’s Odditorium by Gregory Funaro 😀 Neither are scary titles LOL

    • If you’re missing reading horror books then now is definitely the time to catch up on them. 🙂 Otherwise, you can go for atmospheric books like the ones I included in my list. I’m just glad there are non-scary reads that are still perfect for Halloween.

  8. This week has been pretty awesome, because it has shown me I am not alone in my scaredy-cat-ness! These are some great choices!

    Also, I super love your header. It’s really awesome!

    My TTT

    • Aww thank you, Allyson. I really like my header too – I feel like it gives my blog an epic fantasy vibe. And yes, it’s always nice to discover that there are other people out there who are also not fans of the horror genre. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

