Chachic's Book Nook

Swamped

6 Comments

Just a quick note to say that it makes me sad that I don’t have as much time to read or blog lately because I’m super swamped with work. Last Thursday and Friday, I was in the office until almost 10pm. We’re supposed to get off work at 6pm but I can’t even remember when was the last time I was able to do that. I even took the team laptop back to the flat and worked for a bit on Saturday night. I haven’t worked hours this long since my first job, when I used to work 16-20 hours a day. But I was much younger then! Haha I feel like I’m too old for work hours like this. Anyway, I’m hoping it will just be for a certain stretch of time and I’ll be back to having more time fore reading and blogging. Oh if only the book genie is real and I could earn money by reading.

If I find time, I would like to review the following books that I enjoyed reading:
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
Archivist Wasp by Nicole Kornher-Stace
Bone Gap by Laura Ruby
The Fifteenth Minute by Sarina Bowen

Let’s see if I’m able to squeeze these in! It’s almost midnight and again, I’m at that stage where I’m in denial that the weekend has ended.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Swamped

  1. I’m at that same denial…can Monday just not come! I’m excited to start Nimona! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on The Fifteenth Minute too 😀

  2. Me the past.. year I’d say is working till at least 8pm. And since mid July working from 8am to 11pm every day, except weekends when I still work but try to have breaks (but still have had 8am – 11pm days). People keep telling me to go on vacation or take a day off but I have deadlines, and I’d miss them otherwise. So it’s like: I hear you, I WANT to take time off, but it’s NOT POSSIBLE unless you can stop time for me to get off this ride! I think I slowed down when I got sick, and when I had to move all my stuff into storage to get these floors redone, and… when people I love passed away. Keep thinking I see the end of the tunnel and then some new crazy deadline appears. On one hand I enjoy a challenge and keeping my promises to get things done in time, on the other, this has gone on long enough, ready for more balance. I’ve been pushing people back when they ask for something and I think it’s not important enough to mess with my schedule and my manager keeps offering time off. Seeing the light at the end again, reaaallly hope this is it this time! I’m going to go on a real vacation I tell you.

    Phew. Just ranted all over your blog. 😛

    • Aww, Janice. There, there. You can totally rant ANYTIME. I can understand what you’re going through. Sounds like you have a worse scheduled than mine and you’ve been enduring it for a lot longer than I have. I don’t know how you do it! How have you been not tempted to resign? You must enjoy what you’re doing. And the morale in your office is probably pretty good? Because aside from the long hours, what gets me down is that the morale in our office has been really low because of a lot of issues. 😦 Okay, I feel like if I get started on this, I’ll be starting my own long rant.

      I’m sorry to hear that you weren’t feeling well and that you’ve had people you love pass away. Those are always difficult and you had to deal with them on top of your crazy working hours. I really hope you catch a break soon! Sounds like your manager is on your side so I hope you guys are able to make it happen. You totally deserve a long, relaxing vacation. 🙂 And like I said, feel free to rant anytime you need to unload.

      • Heh, thanks for that. 🙂 🙂 🙂 The low moral really sucks. I think that’s prob worse than long hours with at least decent morale. Is there a promise of things getting better at least?

        Over here we have a team that is over several time zones, so hard to tell the morale with people not in my area. I think it’s a combo of “getting stuff done” and “man there’s a lot of stuff to be done”. I think the main issue is a couple of people are more frustrated than me about the communication across the team. Don’t really feel like there’s bad seeds bringing everyone else down, but do feel like sometimes the communication is difficult because of the time zones. That said, I am in a focal area so I think I might be working more hours than other people. I think there’s like a core of 20%-30% of people who work more hours than everyone else.

        And I deal with it because in the moment where I’m stressing, I’m stressing but as soon as the thing is done I tend to forget about all the frustration that got me there. Plus my work *is* being recognized. And on top of that, having something to *do* when I’m grieving helps me. Like: I can control THIS. And I focus on it being temporary. That said, my being able to do that only lasts so long. After a certain period of time it’s like: OK the crazy has gone on long enough, this was supposed to be temporary. I reallly miss blogging and seeing what you and everyone else is reading. AND READING. Oh I miss reading. It feels like a present to myself after I defeat the piles of work: thu shalt be able to read a book Janice!

      • Okay, I started typing up a reply and it became a lot longer and more detailed that I’m willing to share in a public blog post so I’m sending it to you as an email. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

