Addison Hill Series by Mina V. Esguerra

I’ve been meaning to review Mina V. Esguerra’s Addison Hill series for a while now but real life keeps getting in the way. I read the books months ago, and now the series has been revamped with new covers and new titles. As mentioned in my cover reveal posts, I really like how there’s a consistent look and feel to the covers of these books. I’ve been reading and enjoying Mina’s books since I discovered Fairy Tale Fail five years ago (wow, I didn’t realize it’s been that long). I like how she keeps branching out to try different things like with these Addison Hill books which are new adult romance and set in the US, instead of the Philippines. With American characters instead of Filipino characters. Like with the rest of her earlier books, I read each of these pretty quickly… definitely faster than it took to write their reviews.

Falling Hard shareFalling Hard
She knows it won’t last…

Nicholas Cevasco is unlike anyone Daria Kramer has ever dated. But they aren’t really even dating – a fast fling is all they have time for. He’s heading to Japan to play pro rugby, and she’s graduating in three weeks with plans of her own.

That doesn’t mean they can’t have fun… as long as they don’t fall hard.

This title was previously published as The Harder We Fall.

I had an ARC of Falling Hard for months. I have no idea why I kept putting it off, I think I just wasn’t in the mood to pick it up. I felt like reading something light and fun just as my new Kindle Paperwhite arrived so this title had the honor of being the first book I read on it. I literally finished this book in one sitting. I think I started reading it while having dinner and finished it before going to bed. Aside from being set in the US, other factors that made this book different from Mina’s earlier titles are: 1) it’s a lot steamier *fans self* and 2) it’s sports romance.

Surely there was a pulsing heart inside of this stinking pile of guys on the ground. Massive, sweating, dirty, powerful, virile pile of… what?

I knew next to nothing about rugby but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the book. It was easy to like Nicholas and Daria, and I liked how the trope of the two of them being from different social circles played out. It felt natural, and it was nice that there wasn’t any unnecessary drama. They knew from the start what they were getting into, and what conflicts might arise. Even though this was a short book, I also liked that the theme of trying to figure out what they want to do with their lives was present in the story. I think that’s always something that new adults worry about. I obviously enjoyed reading Falling Hard and was immediately curious about the rest of the titles in the series. I jumped right into the second book after reading this first one.

Fallen Again shareFallen Again
It’s too easy to fall in love with Jake. Don’t do it.

Despite living in two different countries, Lindsay Kresta and Jake Berkeley have loved each other as friends since their senior year in college. She’s his emergency contact, his “zombie apocalypse buddy,” and his holiday dinner companion.

But now that he’s known as Jacob Berkeley, star of a wildly successful TV show, he shows up with big news days before her big work conference. He wants to save forests again, work in environmental research…and he wants her.

Don’t fall in love with Jake. Easier said than done.

This title was previously published as Never Just Friends.

Just like Falling Hard, I finished reading Fallen Again one sitting (those titles can get a little confusing). I liked the first book better but this was still a fun read. Jake and Lindsay have been friends for years, they didn’t want to label themselves as best friends so they call themselves zombie apocalypse partners instead. They never really talked about whether they can date each other, but both of them have thought about it. I liked Jake’s no-nonsense approach to this – that he finally made a move because he knew he wanted to be with Lindsay and he wanted to see if she felt the same way. Similar to the first book, I felt like there was no unnecessary drama in their story, more of a slow realization (in Linday’s part, because Jake was already convinced) of how things could be if they gave themselves the chance to be together. I also liked how involved Lindsay’s family is in their friendship/relationship. It was interesting to read about Lindsay’s job and the development work that she does. Nice way of making people more aware of the difficulties in conservation and preservation work. I thought it was nice that Jake is also interested in that line of work and they’re thrown together when he becomes a spokesperson for Lindsay’s firm. I think it’s kind of hot that Jake is a famous actor who wants to be in development. Another short and fun installment in Mina’s Addison Hill series.

Learning to FallLearning to Fall
“Go out with a stereotypical romance novel hero WHO ISN’T YOUR TYPE.”

Avid reader and art student Steph is participating in a monthly blog challenge to Live Like Fiction, and this was the task for October. When Grayson, former co-captain of her university rugby team, walks into her class, she knows it’s meant to be – she has to go out with this guy. Even if she’s never been attracted to big, hunky, athletic types. With Grayson’s “player” reputation off the field, Steph thinks he’ll be good for one date that’ll be worth blogging about, and that’s it.

But you know how it goes: Soon, it becomes more than just one date – and Steph and Grayson are caught up in “living like fiction.” How long can they keep up playing their roles, before reality steps in?

This title was previously called as Someone Else’s Fantasy.

So one day, I asked Mina if she’ll ever consider writing a main character who was a book blogger. I told her that I don’t think I’ve read a book with a book blogger MC before. A few months (or about a year?) later, Learning to Fall is out in the wild! I could really relate to Steph’s life as a book blogger, especially since she’s a blogger on hiatus. So many of my blogging buddies have also gone on breaks or have stopped blogging altogether and I have to admit that I’ve also thought about doing that. It’s pretty much a given that I loved that Steph is a big fan of books and would happily spend hours reading. I also thought it was awesome that through her blog, she’s found good friends who know her so well. Because that’s something that have also happened with me. I feel like we do reveal more of ourselves than we realize through book reviews because our thoughts and feelings about books are very personal (I think I can write a whole blog post about this topic). A non-spoilery snippet:

In theory, blogging shouldn’t take a lot of time. Read a book, then write about it. Simple, right? Obligation fulfilled to the publisher or author who sent the book, to the readers who read the blog.

Not quite.

Blogging found me at a time when I needed people. I knew this, didn’t need a therapist to tell me. Moving to another state, starting college, figuring out how to be a fully functional adult and artist… there was so much comfort in being friends with people who liked the same things. Believe me, I tried being friends with real people, but the friendship offers stopped coming when I missed one too many dorm parties.

I think Mina was able to portray a pretty accurate depiction of Steph’s blogging life. Steph wasn’t the only one I liked in this book, I thought Grayson was a great guy too. A hot athlete who’s also very sweet… what’s not to like? He’s pretty driven too. He knows what he wants and tries to go after them, the challenge is that he seems to want too many things that can’t be balanced together. From their meet cute until the end of the book, I was rooting for these two to find a way to be together. As with the earlier titles in the series, Steph and Grayson also had to figure out what they wanted to do with their lives after college. Again, I thought it was realistic for characters in that age bracket to be in that kind of mindset. Like the earlier two titles in the series, I enjoyed reading Learning to Fall. I liked the book blogging aspect of it so much that I sent it off as a Kindle gift to my own blogger friends.

6 thoughts on “Addison Hill Series by Mina V. Esguerra

  1. Pingback: Ten Quotes I Liked from Books I Read in the Past Year | Chachic's Book Nook

  2. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VII | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

