Chachic's Book Nook

Ten Series I Quit Reading

15 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.This week’s TTT is a variation of the topic “Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit” and I chose to focus on series that I’ve tried but have stopped reading. There used to be a time when I wouldn’t even start reading a series until I have all the books that are a part of it. But then I realized that it’s better to try the first book (or maybe even until the second or third book) to see whether it would be something that I’d be interested to continue. Here are some series that I started but didn’t feel the need to read more:

Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs – I know several book blogger friends who love this series and it keeps being recommended for fans of Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews. I tried the first three books but just couldn’t get past a traumatic incident that happened in the series.
MoonCalled BloodBound IronKissed

October Day series by Seanan McGuire – This was another urban fantasy series that kept being recommended to me so I tried the first two books but the series just wasn’t engaging enough for me to continue.
Rosemary and Rue A Local Habitation

Psy / Changeling series by Nalini Singh – I really liked the worldbuilding in this series and I found the Psy and Changeling dynamics interesting. I think I read four books in this series before stopping. It’s just that it’s hard for me to be totally into a series when it feels like it’s never going to end. I like reading series that have a definite resolution, so that the characters can have the happily ever after that they deserve.
Slave to Sensation Visions of Heat Caressed by Ice Mine to Posess

Guild Hunter series by Nalini Singh – Another series by Nalini Singh where I loved the worldbuilding. I was fascinated by the gritty portrayal of angels and vampires in the first book. I read the second book as well but didn’t feel that it was as strong as the first one. And again, my issue with the series being never ending popped up.
Angel's Blood Archangel's Kiss

Darkest London by Kristen Callihan – I think I started this paranormal romance series because the first book is a Beauty and the Beast retelling. I tried the first two books but just didn’t feel invested enough in the characters to continue. I think the author’s new adult romance is more to my taste.
Firelight - Kristen Callihan Moonglow

Elder Races by Thea Harrison – I enjoyed the first book in this paranormal series but couldn’t get into the second book, which became a DNF for me.
Dragon Bound Storm's Heart

For the rest of my list, I only read the first in the series then decided not to continue:
The Knife of Never Letting Go Divergent Air Awakens Throne of Glass cover

Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness – Several blogging buddies recommended this dystopian trilogy to me, so I decided to try The Knife of Never Letting Go (my review). Sadly, I felt detached from the characters and I just wasn’t sucked into the story. I have copies of the sequels but I’m not planning to read them.

Divergent by Veronica Roth – I read the book because a friend and I planned to watch the movie. I don’t know if I’m missing the dystopian gene but I didn’t really enjoy Divergent enough to pick up the sequel.

Air Awakens by Elise Kova – I was wowed by how gorgeous the cover design for this book was so I decided to give it a try to see if the writing would be as beautiful as the cover. Nope, it wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass – I know there are so many Sarah J. Mass fans out there but I’m sorry to say that I was severely disappointed with this first book in the series (my review) and I’m not remotely interested in reading the sequel. I’m not sure if I’ll consider reading her other books that are not part of this series, though.

So those are ten series that didn’t work for me. It makes me sad that some of these didn’t work out for me but it’s not like I can force myself to like them. Sometimes, we really can’t predict what our reactions will be to the books that we read. How about the rest of you, what are series that you’ve tried reading but didn’t work for you? Or if you chose a different TTT topic, please feel free to share that as well.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

15 thoughts on “Ten Series I Quit Reading

  1. I wish my comment could be more insightful…but I’ve not read any of these LOL I was also equally as wowed by the Air Awakens cover…but now I’m having second thoughts on reading the book.

  2. I admit, I haven’t even heard of the first seven series you listed, lol. I love series so what’s up with that?? Also, I was extremely disappointed and dissatisfied with Throne of Glass too. I’ve heard that the series picks up at book #4. Imo, that is NOT a positive endorsement of this series or of Maas. I did enjoy the entire Divergent series, however. And I’ve been tempted to pick up Air Awakens. Like you, I love the cover, lol.

    • Haha maybe you missed them because they’re in genres that you don’t enjoy reading? I picked those up because they were recommended by book bloggers I follow. Oh yay, good to find another reader who isn’t a huge fan of Sarah J. Maas because it seems like EVERYONE is raving about her books. Um, that’s not really a good sign if it takes four books before the series picks up. We can just read other books that we’d more likely enjoy instead. 😀

  3. The Mercy Thompson series took my for a loop on the third book and I totally understand where your coming from about the traumatic incident. I kept with it though and being able to see her personal growth as well as the growth of all the characters in her life was really amazing. I hate the third book but all the others are amazing. If you ever decide to pick it up again let me know how you feel!

    • It’s very difficult for me to explain why I couldn’t get over that particular incident because I’ve read other books that I had it and I was able to continue with those other series. I don’t know if it’s because I felt like it could have been prevented? Also I remember someone pointing out that Patricia Briggs puts a scene like that in ALL of her series.

  4. I’ve also given up on the October Daye, Guild Hunter, and Darkest London series though I’m still reading Psy/Changeling and Mercy Thompson. (I can say though that I far, far prefer the Alpha and Omega series by Patricia Briggs to her Mercy Thompson series.) I’m also continuing with the Elder Races books but some I like far better than others. I recommend Oracle’s Moon as one of my favorites, so if you pick up the series again, give that one a try.

    I’m on hiatus from J.D. Robb’s … in Death series. I stopped reading about ten books ago, but I’m fairly confident that I’ll restart at some point.

    • Look at that, you’ve read a lot of the series that I’ve also tried! Good to know that you also gave up on some of the series I listed here. I also tried the Alpha and Omega series and yes, it is a little better than the Mercy Thompson series but I think I only read until the second book. To be honest, it’s been frustrating that I haven’t found another urban fantasy series to love like I love the Kate Daniels series. I did a binge read of the World of Lupi by Eileen Wilks when I first found out about it but now it has like nine (or ten?) books in the series with no end in sight so I don’t know if I’ll still continue with it.

  5. I have a love/hate relationship with the third Mercy Thompson book. It was finally going somewhere and had to deal with urban Fae, but then the shmat at the end nearly broke me. I couldn’t stop crying. Still, I respect where the series went after that, and I still read it (with one book left before I’m fully caught up!).

    Shame about ToG, I actually loved the book. Haven’t started her other series though, and I couldn’t say if book two gets better or worse of ToG.

    And yes, Air Awakens does have such a pretty cover! I might have to try it just to see if it’s my cup of tea. Or not, lol.

    • Yeah, that one was quite a shock, right? I still remember it even though it’s been years. Like I mentioned in a comment above, it’s hard for me to explain why I can’t get past it but I just get the feeling that it could have been prevented. But good for you that you’re enjoying the series. I know so many others who are big fans of Mercy Thompson. I wanted to love it as much as the Kate Daniels series but sadly, that didn’t happen.

      That’s interesting that you loved Throne of Glass. I was thinking that maybe it’s the type of fantasy that a non-fantasy reader would enjoy? Like as an introduction to the genre. But then you’ve read Kristin Cashore, Robin McKinley and Diana Wynne Jones so you are familiar with the genre. LOL so my theory is wrong.

      Give Air Awakens a try if the premise catches your attention. I don’t regret trying it because that cover is so pretty! The sequel also has a great cover but I won’t pick it up. 😛

  6. I never finished the Divergent series either. I just lost interest and despite having all three books, I don’t think I’ll ever finish them.

    • I wasn’t even interested in watching the second movie! Good to know that you also didn’t enjoy reading Divergent. It was such a hyped series and I just couldn’t get into it.

  7. I have The Knife of Never Letting Go on my TBR, hopefully I enjoy it more than you did.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/10/06/top-ten-tuesday-25/

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

