Sunday as a Book Godmother

I’ve been sick since Friday because of the haze in Singapore. Haze is pollution caused by forest fires in the region. These fires are deliberately done to clear the forests for commercial use. And the haze spreads out to nearby countries. The haze has reached hazardous levels and was bad enough that schools cancelled their classes last Friday. I’ve tried my best to get as much rest as I can over the weekend, but sadly, I still feel like crap. I only ventured out of the flat to grab dinner and tonight, I also dropped by the bookstore to pick up some books for my friend’s baby shower next weekend. Books were in their gift registry so being the self-proclaimed Book Godmother that I am, that’s what I decided to get for them.

Kinokuniya - book haul - Sept 27 2015
These were the titles I grabbed:
Kinokuniya - book haul gift wrapped - Sept 27 2015
Kinokuniya - book haul baby books  - Sept 27 2015

I actually got four books but I wasn’t able to take a shot of all the titles because the bookstore was about to close. So here’s a list:
All the World by Liz Garton Scanlon and Marla Frazee
Oh, Baby, the Places You’ll Go! by Tish Rabe, Dr. Seuss
There’s a Wocket in My Pocket! by Dr. Seuss
Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney, Anita Jeram

I think this is the first time I’ve seen and read All the World and was pleasantly surprised by how lovely it was. I might consider getting another one for my toddler godson back in Manila. Dr. Seuss books and Guess How Much I Love You are staple titles for me, and I’ve gifted these to my other godsons before. Aside from these, I also got some Filipino kiddie books during my last trip home:
NBS - book haul - Sept 27, 2015
Ang Palasyo ng mga Duwende / The Palace of the Dwarves by Christine S. Bellen, Albert Gamos
Ang Pitong Tanga /The Seven Idiots by Christine S. Belen, Ruben de Jesus
Ang Prinsipeng Unggoy / The Monkey Prince by Christine S. Belen, Hubert B. Fucio

While my friends IRL rarely check my book blog unless I send them a specific link, I still need to keep my fingers crossed that my friend won’t see that titles that I got for her baby prior to next weekend!

I didn’t get any books for myself during this bookstore visit, but I was tempted to join the adult coloring book bandwagon. I just didn’t have enough time to browse and choose a good one:
Kinokuniya - Sept 27, 2015 - adult coloring books

Well, I hope you all had a much nicer weekend that I did! I’m going to go to bed soon and I’m hoping I’ll feel better tomorrow because this upcoming week will be super busy at work. If you have any recommendations for kiddie board books or adult coloring books, feel free to let me know.

5 thoughts on “Sunday as a Book Godmother

  1. Pingback: Hazy weekend | Throwing Inkpots

  2. I adore coloring books (adult or otherwise). It’s just a nice way to alleviate my own stress; I like coloring while I’m watching a show or when I’m really anxious! Also, great book choices! I actually also play book fairy for anyone I know who is having a baby; it’s so cool to be able to support the development of their own little library.

    • I think coloring will help me relax too. I’m just hesitant in starting a new hobby when I already feel like I don’t have enough time to read or blog. Oh hey, if you like giving kiddie books as gifts, you should definitely grab some titles written by Filipino authors the next time you go home. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

