Chachic's Book Nook

Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews

1 Comment

I have been an Ilona Andrews fan ever since I read the Kate Daniels series in 2010. I think that’s pretty obvious if you take a look at my current blog header because the design was partially inspired by the series. I can still remember devouring the first four books in the series that were out at that time. I read the first two books and thought the story and the characters were interesting. Then I picked up Magic Strikes and BOOM! I fell in love with the series and I haven’t looked back. I’ve tried reading other urban fantasy series and Kate Daniels is still my favorite. There’s just so many things to love in this series – from the flawed characters who are so easy to love and care for to the magic vs. tech world they live in. So of course, I wanted to read Magic Shifts as soon as it was released. Unfortunately, I was swamped with work during the week so I had to wait until the weekend before I can dive back into this world. It’s been a few weeks since I finished reading the book but I haven’t been able to catch up on reviews until now. Spoiler warning: this review will contain spoilers for the earlier books.

Reading order, with the thumbnails linked to my reviews:
Magic BitesMagic BurnsMagic StrikesMagic BleedsMagic SlaysGunmetal MagicMagic RisesMagic Breaks by Ilona Andrews

Magic ShiftsHere’s the summary from Goodreads:

After breaking from life with the Pack, mercenary Kate Daniels and her mate—former Beast Lord Curran Lennart—are adjusting to a very different pace. While they’re thrilled to escape all the infighting, Curran misses the constant challenges of leading the shapeshifters.

So when the Pack offers him its stake in the Mercenary Guild, Curran seizes the opportunity—too bad the Guild wants nothing to do with him and Kate. Luckily, as a veteran merc, Kate can take over any of the Guild’s unfinished jobs in order to bring in money and build their reputation. But what Kate and Curran don’t realize is that the odd jobs they’ve been working are all connected.

An ancient enemy has arisen, and Kate and Curran are the only ones who can stop it—before it takes their city apart piece by piece…

Reading a new book in a series that you love is similar to coming home. That’s how it feels like whenever I pick up a Kate Daniels novel. I’m familiar with the world, with the characters and I trust Ilona and Gordon enough to know that I’ll enjoy whatever they write. The main story arc of the previous books was concluded with Magic Breaks, with Kate and Curran giving up the leadership of the Pack. I was curious what direction the story will take after that. In that aspect, I was wholly satisfied with the changes that Kate and Curran have made in their lives because I felt that they remained true to themselves. It felt realistic and in keeping with their personalities. As the series has progressed, the characters and their relationships have also developed. Even though Kate has been with Curran for several books now, their relationship still has its ups and downs and I like seeing them deal with their problems together. I also enjoyed seeing all the other characters I’ve come to love like Julie, Derek, Andrea and Raphael, Dali and Jim, Dolittle, etc. It’s nice that we still got to see Pack members even if Kate and Curran are technically not members of the group anymore. I also liked seeing more of Roland! I think he’s a really good complex character, and it will be very interesting to see what will happen to him in the last two books in the series.

The magic in each Kate Daniels book has been inspired by a different mythology. In Magic Shifts, the focus is Arabian mythology. I really feel like the authors research the subject matter intensively and it shows in their writing. While I didn’t feel like Magic Shifts is one of the stronger books in the series, it was still a lot of fun for me to read it. Like I said earlier, diving into a favorite series is always a good idea. After finishing the book, I immediately wanted the next one in the series. There were hints about what can happen in the near future and I’m really looking forward to finding out more about Kate and Curran. Just two more novels until the whole Kate Daniels series ends! I can’t wait to see how things will unfold. Of course I want these characters to have their happy ending and I will be keeping my fingers crossed for that.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

One thought on “Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews

  1. Pingback: Review of Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews | Fantasy Cafe | Reviews of Fantasy and Science Fiction Books

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

