Chachic's Book Nook

MT Masking Tape Store for SG50

7 Comments

What’s in my shopping bag? Usually the answer would be books but this weekend, I have washi tapes instead!

MT Store SG 50 - shopping bag

There’s an ongoing MT Store event in Raffles City, organized in honor of SG50. I discovered the wonder that is a washi tape expo back in 2013 when I visited the MT Expo Singapore. I think that was when I started to become a washi tape addict (my current stash can be viewed here). How can I resist when there are so many cute designs out there? So it’s not surprising that I’ve dropped by the MT store several times since it opened the other day. Some pics of the event:

MT Store SG 50

MT Store SG 50 - floor

MT Store SG 50 - badges

And something that all book loves will like, a washi tape that has books on it:
MT Store SG 50 - books washi

For every event or expo that MT organizes, they created limited edition designs that are only available during those events. They’re usually inspired by the country where the event is held and these tapes are the first to go because of course, washi collectors love these special designs. For this event, there were the Singapore limited edition designs:
MT Store SG 50 - limited edition

MT Store SG 50 - limited edition

MT Store SG 50 - birds

Aaaand now we move on to my haul. I tried to be a good girl and only grabbed the designs that I REALLY, REALLY wanted. My final stash:
MT Store SG 50 - shopping bag

Four Singapore limited edition designs, my favorite is the one at the bottom of the flyer, which is called “multiculturalism”. Plus four tapes inspired by M. Sasek’s kiddie travel books: This Is London, This Is Rome, This Is Paris and This Is New York. How can I resist tapes based on books? And I did mention a few months back that I wanted to collect M. Sasek’s books. Aside from these eight tapes, I also grabbed a few more to send/give to friends who also love washi.

Just for fun, I took a pic of the flyers and the limited edition tapes that I bought from the two MT Singapore events that I’ve had the pleasure of attending:
MT Store SG 50 - 2015 vs 2013

Also, my current collection of limited edition designs:
MT Store SG 50 - my limited edition collection
Tapes from expos held in Singapore, Hong Kong, Taipei and Christmas designs.

Hope you guys enjoyed this little break from book-related posts! πŸ˜€ Feel free to let me know which design is the cutest for you. Also, if you have an Instagram account, please like my posts about this event (my Instagram username is chachickenpie) because the ones that have the most likes will get a prize. I’m not feeling very hopeful because some accounts have thousands of followers but let’s see how it goes!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

7 thoughts on “MT Masking Tape Store for SG50

  1. Too many choices……..πŸ˜‚ I would have found it difficult to concentrate lol! I’m personally planning to make it to some washi tape stores when I’m in Tokyo. Hopefully they’ll have some good choices and I won’t get so overwhelmed that I miss good designs 😁

  2. Look at all those pretty rolls! Do you have a close-up of the tape that’s second from the top left (in your limited edition photo)? (Sorry, super clunky sentence haha)

  3. I seriously love seeing your washi tape collection! It’s so dang pretty, and I love the various designs that you get to pick up at these events. Yay for a successful washi tape shopping trip!

  4. Pingback: Hazy weekend | Throwing Inkpots

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

