Chachic's Book Nook

Weekend Trip: Club Med Bintan Island

5 Comments

I didn’t get that much reading or blogging done over the weekend because we had an office team building trip from Friday to Saturday. To be perfectly honest, I was dreading it because I had a feeling that spending more than 24 hours with co-workers would be really awkward. It wasn’t as bad as I expected and I was able to have a little bit of fun (hey, gotta make the most out of a trip away from the city). We went to Club Med in Bintan Island, a ferry ride away from Singapore. I was in Bintan earlier this year for my birthday but stayed at a different resort. Some shots of the place:

Club Med Bintan - beach

Club Med Bintan - beach 2

Club Med Bintan - pool

And there were monkeys in our room’s balcony:

Club Med Bintan - monkeys

My normal beach thing would be to read by the beach but there wasn’t really any time for that because of the packed schedule that we had for team building activities (games, dancing, table tennis, etc.) Also, my co-workers confiscated my Kindle and put it in our room’s safe together with other valuables. They said reading during team building trip is not allowed because that’s being antisocial.

One of our team activities was (a dummy version of) archery! I didn’t get a pic but it was fun to play Katniss/Fire for 30 minutes. We were supposed to have a trapeze lesson but it was cancelled when it started raining. So we took advantage of the free time we had by going to the spa where I got a 30-minute massage and was able to sneak in some reading time (my weekend read was Suddenly One Summer by Julie James):

Club Med Bintan - spa lounge

Club Med Bintan - Suddenly One Summer

While the trip was fun in its own way, it was super tiring because I haven’t had that much physical activity in ages. So I just took it easy on Sunday and finished reading Suddenly One Summer. What about the rest of you, how was your weekend?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

5 thoughts on “Weekend Trip: Club Med Bintan Island

  1. I’m not anti-social or anything… but I’d hate to have to spend a weekend with colleagues! We do some teambuilding-type activities in my office, but always on a weekday – I think asking people to do a weekend would not go down well.

    Looks beautiful though, and I’m glad you got some me-time too!

    Li

    • Trust me, if I had a choice, I also wouldn’t have gone on this trip. But everyone was going and we’re a small office, I would have been labeled as “not a team player” if I opted out. Thank goodness it was just one night! I really would have preferred some kind of day activity.

  2. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

  3. Pingback: Weekend Trip: Chiang Mai | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

