Chachic's Book Nook

#BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy Round Up

8 Comments

At the start of August, I talked about the #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy campaign. I tried to read and feature as many Filipino books as I could but sadly, I wasn’t able to read all of the ones that I have on my TBR pile. Anyway, I posted these shots either on Instagram or Twitter and wanted to consolidate everything in one place so here we go…

Books I read:

Una & Miguel

Una and Miguel by Lilledeshan Bose, a Filipino YA novel. The bright yellow and purple cover went well with the table setting at PS Cafe.

Shine by Candy Gourlay

Yes, I’m in Singapore but I still read (and promote) Filipino books! Shine by Candy Gourlay at Cocoa Colony. This Filipino MG novel was also published in the UK so it’s available all over the world if you’re interested in reading Filipino lit.

Shine by Candy Gourlay - chapter heading

Sneak peek inside Shine by Candy Gourlay

Someone Else's Fantasy by Mina V. Esguerra

I know it’s not obvious but this is an early copy of Someone Else’s Fantasy by Mina V. Esguerra with my matcha latte. I believe this will be released with a different title and cover soon.

Still reading:

Banana Heart Summer

Banana Heart Summer by Merlinda Bobis

Books I’ve read but wanted to encourage other readers to pick up:

Cover Story Girl with mocha

Cover Story Girl by Chris Mariano, Set in sunny and gorgeous Boracay, one of the most famous beaches in the Philippines, this is a sweet romance between a Filipino guy and a Korean girl.

Interim Goddess of Love paperbacks

Signed copies of the first two books in the Interim Goddess of Love trilogy, with cucumber mint tea and blueberry chocolate lavender tart.

Looking back on these pictures, I think it becomes obvious that I have a thing for coffee and tea. 😛 As always, I hope more readers will be encouraged to read these Filipino titles!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “#BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy Round Up

  1. Thanks so much for the mention (again!), Chachic! Happy reading!

  2. I thought of your blog the other day when I saw this Book Riot post ~ 3 Filipino Folk Tales That Would Make Great YA Novels http://bookriot.com/2015/09/02/3-filipino-folk-tales-make-great-ya-novels/

    • Aww that’s so sweet that you thought of me! I saw some Filipino reader friends sharing this link. To be honest, I would just like to see more well-written Filipino YA novels of any genre… they don’t have to be based on folk tales. 😛

  3. Your book photos are so cute! And I adore the fact that you’ve read and talked about so many Pinoy authors on your blog. I really have to get my butt in gear and check more of them out!

  4. Pingback: Filipino Fridays: Five Ways I’ve Shown Support for Filipino Authors/Books | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy 2016 – time to read Filipino books! | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

