Chachic's Book Nook

Ten Characters I Didn’t Click With

20 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. I’m a character reader. In order for me to enjoy reading a book, I need to be invested in the characters. There are certain times when I don’t get along with a character for specific reasons like they do things that annoy me or I don’t agree with their thoughts/actions. But sometimes, I just don’t care enough about them. It’s sad when that happens because then, the book that I’m reading doesn’t really work for me. Here are some examples of books that I’ve read where I didn’t click with the main female characters:

New Moon City of Bones Throne of Glass cover Divergent The Cry of the Icemark
The Scarecrow King Eon One Week Girlfriend Confessions of a Shopaholic Pucked

Some of these I just skimmed to finish or were even DNFs for me, and I gave them one or two star ratings in Goodreads. What about the rest of you, have you read books where you felt like you didn’t really click with the characters?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

20 thoughts on “Ten Characters I Didn’t Click With

  1. Thanks for helping me with filtering out books I should steer clear of 🙂 at least I know if you weren’t able to relate it might be equally difficult for me to do the same.

    • LOL, no problem! But of course, you can still give these books a try if you’re curious about them. Just because I didn’t care for the characters doesn’t mean that you’ll feel the same way.

  2. Oh, I have to agree about EON/EONA. Everyone was talking about the duology and . . . no, just didn’t work for me. I liked DIVERGENT okay, but never went on with the trilogy, so I guess I didn’t like it that much.

    For me, protagonists who are impulsive are a hard sell — and protagonists who seem both impulsive and kinda idiotic just *never* work for me.

    • I thought I was the only one who didn’t like Eon! I didn’t even feel like continuing with Eona because I just didn’t care about any of the characters. I only read Divergent because I was about to watch the movie with a friend. I didn’t feel the need to continue with the series (both in book and movie format).

      Impulsive and idiotic sound like a recipe for disaster! Characters like that would never work for me either. LOL I remember being annoyed enough while reading and pausing to shake my fist at the characters and say, “What are you doing?! You idiot!”

  3. I didn’t care for Celaena in Throne of Glass either. To me, she just wasn’t relatable in ToG, which I guess makes sense since so much of her story is still unknown at that point. I straight up fell in love with her in Heir of Fire though.

    • Yeah, I’ve heard that the series gets better but I was just really annoyed by the first book that I had zero inclination to read the rest of the series. I’m seeing so many bloggers rave about the latter books though, so I don’t know if I’ll eventually change my mind about that.

  4. Characters are SO important to me too – great list! My TTT

  5. I’m the same! If I don’t love the MC, I don’t love the book, either! I’ve enjoyed a few of the books on your list, so i should hide from you! ^.~

    • Yeah, it’s pretty difficult to enjoy reading a novel when you’re not liking the characters. Haha Bonnie, no need to hide! We can’t all like the same things. I’m just saying that these books didn’t work for me but of course, it’s totally fine if other readers love them.

  6. Throne of Glass characters didn’t click with me as well.

  7. I had Tris on my list this week. I didn’t like Celaena at first, but have grown to like her over the course of the books and now I love her.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/01/top-ten-tuesday-20/

  8. I had the main characters from Twilight and Four on my list but not until Allegiant really.

  9. Yes for what’s-her-name is City of Glass, it became a DNF.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

