Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Tuesday: My Most Read Authors

13 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. For this week’s topic, I extracted my Goodreads database, did a pivot table and sorted the numbers to get the top ten:
Author Count - August 2015
Pretty eclectic list of authors right there! I didn’t even know some of the authors above had written that many books. I went and checked Goodreads and the numbers don’t lie.

But that list doesn’t take into consideration the number of books that have been published by the author. For example, there are some authors who have published less than ten books (the cut off for the list above) but I’ve read most, if not all, of those titles. Such as:

Melina Marchetta
Megan Whalen Turner
Laini Taylor
Kristin Cashore
Stephanie Perkins
Erin Bow
Elizabeth Wein (all except her latest)
Julie James (all except her latest)

So that extends my list a bit further than just ten but I wanted to be more accurate. Do we share anyone in our lists? Would you have recommendations for me based on this list of authors?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Most Read Authors

  1. Wow! I thought 11 of J. K. Rowling’s books were many but wow! Great list 🙂

  2. Lemony Snicket! I should have included him, because I’ve read 13 of his books as well.

  3. I too had a lot of authors that I loved more than some on my list, and I’ve read all their books, but they just happen to have only published a few books, so I haven’t read as much by them when you look at it this way.

    • Oh yes, that’s why I thought it would be a good idea to include a second list of authors who haven’t written as many books. While the numbers may be a good indication of a reader’s enjoyment of the author’s writing, it doesn’t necessarily mean that they’re automatic favorites.

  4. That is so smart to use GoodReads to find exact numbers. I went more by authors that I remember loving so much I read more than one book 🙂 I didn’t think to include Lemony Snickett. I made it through most of The Series of Unfortunate Events. That was a long series that got a bit repetitive for me at the end.

    Check out my TTT: https://greenishbookshelf.wordpress.com/2015/08/11/top-10-tuesday-authors-ive-read-the-most-books-from/

    • I should have noted that my Goodreads account only goes as far back as 2010. 😛 Yeah I finished reading The Series of Unfortunate Events just to get it over with. The latter books definitely weren’t as strong as the earlier ones. I thought the movie was pretty cute though, wish they produced a sequel of it.

  5. So many people have recommended Robin McKinley to me – i really need to read her works.
    My TTT

    • You haven’t read any of Robin McKinley’s books? If you’re a fan of fantasy then I definitely recommend that you give them a try. I love the fairy tale feel of her writing. Maybe you can start with The Blue Sword or Beauty. 🙂

  6. I have never read The Series of Unfortunate Events when I was younger, but I want to so badly now!!

    • You should give them a try! But like mentioned in one of the comments above, the latter books dragged a bit and got repetitive. I think it had too many books but I guess it made sense for them to stretch the series to reach 13.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

