Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: August 7

4 Comments

Just a quick book haul post at the start of this long weekend. We’re having a four-day weekend to celebrate Singapore’s 50th year of independence. Happy Birthday, Singapore! 🙂 I would have loved to take advantage of this long weekend by traveling but flights are so expensive because I wasn’t able to book anything months in advance. So I’m looking forward to a weekend of just relaxing and reading books.

Earlier this week, the latest installment in my favorite urban fantasy series was released: Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews!

book haul - Magic Shifts

I had to take a pic of this book with my blog header because the Kate Daniels series was one of the inspirations for my current header’s design. I’ve been really good about waiting to read Magic Shifts because I knew that once I start, I wouldn’t be able to stop. I’m going to devour it this weekend!

Before the long weekend started, I got book mail from the distributor Pansing yesterday:

Pansing book haul - Aug 7

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil
A Thousand Nights by EK Johnston

An Aussie YA novel and an ARC of a retelling of Arabian Nights! I haven’t tried both of these authors and I’m looking forward to doing so. I also have Melissa Keil’s other novel, Life in Outer Space, which I grabbed from the SG Book Deals warehouse sale. I really think it’s pretty cool that some Aussie titles pop up in SG. As I mentioned in a recent TTT post, I love reading retellings so it would be interesting to see what A Thousand Nights will be like.

What about the rest of you, have you acquired any new books lately? What are you planning to read this coming weekend?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

4 thoughts on “Book Haul: August 7

  1. Life in Outer Space was brilliant!! I really enjoyed it, and I hope you do too. Also, this cover for A Thousand Nights is SO lovely. Happy reading!

    • I’m really excited to read it, also because it has such a great cover! I think the two Melissa Keil books that I own look pretty good. Yes, I also think A Thousand Nights looks interesting. I believe this design is for the UK cover but the US one also has a nice design.

  2. I’d wanna read “A Thousand Nights” just because of the cover!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

