Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Favorite Fairy Tale Retellings

10 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. I’m a huge fan of fairy tale retellings. I love seeing an author take the familiar elements of a fairy tale and make it his or her own story. So when I found out about this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic, I jumped at the chance to make a list of my faves.

Beauty and the Beast:
Beauty by Robin McKinley Cruel Beauty

Cinderella:
Ella Enchanted Six Impossible Things

The Goose Girl:
Goose Girl_Alison Jay

The Six Swans:
Daughter of the Forest

Sleeping Beauty:
Enchantment

Peter Pan:
Tiger Lily

Last but certainly not the least, I love how Laura Florand weaves flavors of some fairy tales into her stories:
Once Upon a Rose The Chocolate Kiss

What are your favorite fairy tale retellings? Or which fairy tales would you love to be retold?

Pico de Loro - Beauty and the Beast

My copy of Robin McKinley’s Beauty with Ipanema Beauty and the Beast flipflops in the background

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite Fairy Tale Retellings

  1. Oooh Six Impossible Things is new to me – looks good! I posted my favourites here: https://lipsyy.wordpress.com/2015/08/04/top-ten-tuesday-inspired-by-fairy-tales/

  2. Robin McKinley and Shannon Hale are and Juliet Marillier are always a favorite! And ELLA ENCHANTED is my favorite kid’s book! Oh, and I love CRUEL BEAUTY and ENCHANTMENT and TIGER LILY. I just don’t know the other three and have to look them up!

    (And I am jealous ALL OVER of those flip flops!)

    • Bonnie, you haven’t read any of Laura Florand’s books? You should really give them a try! They’re contemporary romances set in France – one series has top chocolatiers as MCs while another series features a perfume family in Provence.

      I love those flip flops too. 🙂 I have another pair that’s Little Red Riding Hood but I haven’t used them yet.

  3. I love Beauty! I forgot to include it on my list, but it should be there. Definitely a favorite. Fairytales are so much fun.

  4. You’ve got 3 of my favourites on here — I love Beauty, The Goose Girl, and Ella Enchanted! I need to re-read Daughter of the Forest (and maybe get a copy for my own shelves at some point), it’s been years since I read it.

    • What did you think of Daughter of the Forest when you read it? Did you pick up the sequels? I thought Son of the Shadows was just as good as the first book.

  5. Pingback: Book Haul: August 7 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

