Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: SG Book Deals

11 Comments

Last weekend, I posted an announcement of the SG Book Deals warehouse sale and today, I dropped by to check it out. I wanted to go today because it’s the first day of the sale and I was thinking there would be more stocks than any other day. I had to figure out how to get to the place – took the MRT to Bishan and then took the bus – so I arrived there sometime in the late afternoon. I was surprised to see so many people hunting for books! Originally, I wanted to buy kiddie books for my godsons but looks like they ran out of good titles. They said they will replenish stocks tomorrow but I don’t think I would have time to go.

SG Book Deals - August 2015

SG Book Deals - August 2015 - 2

SG Book Deals - August 2015 - 3

They’re having an SG50 promo where you can fill one of these boxes with as many books that can fit into it and just pay SGD50! Of course, people took advantage of this and I saw a lot of them holding boxes while browsing around.

SG Book Deals - August 2015 - 4

I didn’t fill a box but the sellers were kind enough to give me an eco bag while I was browsing. My book haul includes these titles:

SG Book Deals - August 2015 - book haul 1

SG Book Deals - August 2015 - book haul 2

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Mouse Bird Snake Wolf by David Almond and Dave McKean
Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil
Preloved by Shirley Marr
Blood Song by Rhiannon Hart
Blood Storm by Rhiannon Hart
Red Ink by Julie Mayhew
West End Girls by Jenny Colgan
Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend by Jenny Colgan
The Key to the Golden Firebird by Maureen Johnson
Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge
Paper Aeroplanes by Dawn O’Porter
The Prince Who Walked with Lions by Elizabeth Laird
Rose Cottage by Mary Stewart
Salem Brownstone: All Along the Watchtowers by John Harris Dunning and Nikhil Singh

FYI, I wiped the floor before putting down the books. πŸ˜› I think it looks nicer when you can see all the covers. I thought it was awesome that they had some Aussie YA titles! I also couldn’t resist getting copies of two favorite books, Code Name Verity and A Monster Calls. I don’t have this particular edition of the former and I can always give away copies of the latter.

The sale will last until August 10 so I’m including the details again, in case you want to check it out:
SG BOOK DEALS WAREHOUSE SALE POSTER

Event details:
Date: 1-10 August 2015
Time: 11am to 7pm (Weekends & Public Holiday); 11am to 2pm (Weekdays)
Venue: No. 438 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10, Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 1, Singapore 569619 (Opposite Pathlight School, above Rozel Furnishing Store)

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

11 thoughts on “Book Haul: SG Book Deals

  1. *paws at screen* I want all of those books. ESPECIALLY those aussie YA’s!

    • Totally understand! I feel like readers in SG are lucky in the sense that we get some Aussie YA titles here from time to time. I’m always on the lookout for them.

  2. Which ones are Aussie? Just curious. Also wondering about New Zealand titles. Do you know of any?
    Code Name Verity, yay!
    I’m afraid to read the Patrick Ness, just like I have avoided The Fault in Our Stars. I look quite ugly when I cry, and I read in public, haha!

    • From this pile, the Aussie titles are Life in Outer Space, Preloved, Blood Song and Blood Storm. Hmm I’m not really familiar with New Zealand titles though. More familiar with Aussie books because of Aussie book bloggers. πŸ™‚

      I did cry when I read A Monster Calls! I still remember reading part of it in a Starbucks branch while waiting for friends and doing my best NOT to cry. Haha.

  3. Greetings πŸ™‚
    Wow, that’s a lot of books! Hope you enjoy reading them. Wish I could buy something from there as well, but I don’t live in Singapore.

  4. That’s such a cool warehouse sale! I think I would have taken full advantage of it πŸ˜‰ Looks like you’ve gotten some awesome new reads!

    • I think any book lover would have taken advantage of a warehouse sale like this one! It was so funny how I told myself that I wouldn’t get too many since I still have a huge TBR pile. But I couldn’t resist! πŸ˜›

  5. I really loved the selection at this sale! I got CODE NAME VERITY and A MONSTER CALLS as well as a whole bunch of other YA books and some books on Film and TV (what I’m studying at uni). Happy reading!! πŸ˜€

    • Rabiah! I was wondering if you ended up going to the sale. I’d have to check your blog to see your haul. πŸ™‚ sounds like you got a pretty good haul too. I’m glad you were able to get Code Name Verity and A Monster Calls. I also saw copies of Rose Under Fire but didn’t get that since I already have that edition.

  6. Pingback: Book Haul: August 7 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

