Chachic's Book Nook

NCBD Blog Tour: Filipino Children and YA Books Wish List

2 Comments

NCBD Blog Tour Header

Yesterday, I wrote about my recommended books written by Filipino authors for Top Ten Tuesday. Today, I’m continuing the Filipino theme with this post. I believe the Philippine’s National Children’s Book Day (NCBD) is being celebrated for most of the month of July. There are weekly topics for the NCBD Blog Tour where everyone can participate. I joined the NCBD Blog Tour earlier this month by listing my favorite Filipino children and YA titles. This week’s topic is:

Hulyo 20 – 25: Wish List
Anong Pilipinong aklat pambata o pangkabataan ang gusto mong mailimbag? (Maaaring paksa, uri ng aklat, o ng isang manunulat o ilustrador. Maaaring maglista nang higit sa isa pa.)

Which I translated as:

July 20 – 25: Wish List
What Filipino children or young adult book would you want to be published? (It can be a topic, type of book or a specific author or illustrator. Feel free to list more than one.)

Over the years, I’ve browsed the kiddie section of Manila bookstores to buy children’s books written by Filipino authors for my godsons. I’ve noticed that there’s a pretty good selection of titles that are available nowadays, a lot more than what was published when I was a kid. I love the ones where the stories are written in both Filipino and English because I can give those as gifts even to non-Filipino friends. So I think when it comes to children’s books, there’s a good slate out there.

When it comes to Filipino middle grade and young adult fiction, I think there’s a HUGE gap. I’ve scoured bookstores to look for MG or YA titles that I can read and frankly, there doesn’t seem to be that many that have been published. So my wish is simple: I want to read more Filipino MG or YA titles across different genres. Contemporary, epic fantasy, urban fantasy, romance, historical, etc. Series or standalones. I’m not picky. As long as it’s a well-written novel, I’ll read it. It would be great if the Filipino MG and YA scene would become as developed as the Australian YA market, where there are now so many amazing titles being published. Some of which are released first in Australia and later published in the US or UK.

Also, another wish of mine would be that these titles be available in ebook format. Since I’m based in Singapore, I only get to buy physical copies of Filipino books whenever I travel home and that doesn’t happen as often as I would like.

What about you, what are Filipino children, MG or YA books that you would like to be published? Do you have any recommendations written by Filipino authors?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

2 thoughts on “NCBD Blog Tour: Filipino Children and YA Books Wish List

  1. I think it would be AWESOME if there were more Filipino MG/YA titles! I’d be happy to read them, particularly if someone wrote a fantasy or contemporary novel.

    • Right? Wouldn’t it be great to have some good Filipino MG and YA books to read? I’ll keep you posted whenever I come across titles I can recommend.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

