Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Tuesday: My Recommended Filipino Books

19 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is this: Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters. Because I’m a Filipino book blogger, I’m modifying this topic to list books by Filipino authors that I would recommend to other readers. I want to take this opportunity to spread the word about Filipino authors because for me, that’s part of promoting diversity in the blogosphere. I hope that this will encourage more readers to pick up these titles because they’re all written mostly in English, with just a few phrases in Filipino.

Chic Manila books by Mina V. Esguerra’s – These are contemporary romance or chick lit set in the Philippines with Filipino characters. I recommend her books because they give readers a good picture of what life is like for a young woman back home. Her Interim Goddess of Love trilogy is new adult while the rest feature characters in their mid to late twenties (my favorite out of those is still Fairy Tale Fail.

Spotlight New Adult by Mina V. Esguerra – This series is different from Mina’s other books because they’re set in the US and are more steamy. I’ve read The Harder We Fall and Never Just Friends and really enjoyed both, I finished each in one sitting. Watch this space for my reviews.

Tall Story by Candy Gourlay – Candy is also a Filipino author and her middle grade contemporary novel about two siblings is partially set in the Philippines. I have Candy’s other book, Shine, in my TBR pile.

Trese graphic novel series by Budjette Tan and KaJo Baldissimo – I can now happily recommend this urban fantasy/horror graphic novel series because it’s available on Amazon! Written and illustrated by Filipinos, I love how this series has supernatural creatures based on Filipino myths and folklore.

Cover (Story) Girl by Chris Mariano – This is such a perfect summer read because it’s set in Boracay, one of the most well-known beaches in the Philippines. It’s a sweet romantic novella with a Filipino guy and Korean girl as MCs.

All’s Fair in Blog and War by Chrissie Peria – Another Filipino romance, this one is between two travel bloggers who win a free trip to Macau in exchange for featuring the country in their blogs.

Interim Goddess of Love_digital cover The Harder We Fall Tall Story UK Trese Mass Murders Cover Story Girl All's Fair in Blog and War

All of the books I mentioned above are available online and can be read by readers outside the Philippines. Unfortunately, the rest of my list will only be applicable to readers based back home because they’re either out of print or only available in the Philippines:

After Eden by Arnold Arre – I really liked this graphic novel romance!

The Breakup Diaries by Maya O. Calica – I can still remember the first time I read this book when I was in college. I could relate to the barista MC who was trying to get over the breakup with her college boyfriend. I made all my friends read this title back then and I’m glad it was recently reprinted.

Have Baby, Will Date by Andrea Pasion – I thought this was cute chick lit featuring a new mom.

Tough Love by Melissa Salva – I liked that the MCs had a meet cute while traveling abroad and later they find out that they’re both into karate.

After Eden The Breakup Diaries 2 Have Baby Will Date Tough Love

I hope I’ve managed to get you guys interested in Filipino fiction! This serves as a reminder to me to pick up some of the Filipino titles that I have in my TBR pile. What about the rest of you, what comes to mind when you hear of diversity in books? Any strong recommendations of diverse titles?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Recommended Filipino Books

  1. I love your twist on the theme, and that you’re exposing us to authors we may not be familiar with. Thank you for your list!! Oh, I’ve actually read FAIRY TALE FAIL! I didn’t know where it came from!!

  2. Thanks for the mention! And thanks for the recommendations … now my TBR pile is going to go through the roof!

  3. I absolutely love that you put this spin on this TTT! It’s always fun to see Filipino titles/authors recommended, and you can bet that I’m putting some of these on my own list of books to consider reading 🙂

  4. I have 7/10! I really love them all! And I teach Trese to grade 7 students. Now to search for the other two remaining!

  5. Pingback: NCBD Blog Tour: Filipino Children and YA Books Wish List | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. I still have your copy of After Eden, Chachic!
    Should I go to Singapore so I can finally return it to you? 🙂

  7. Great list! I haven’t read any of these, but I’ll be sure to add some of them to my TBR pile. 🙂

  8. Yay for diversity! This is such an awesome list–I haven’t heard of many Filipino authors, but Candy Gourlay’s books are some I’m dying to read. I saw her presentation at this year’s Asian Festival of Children’s Content and she’s absolutely hilarious. Great list!! 😀

    • Oh yeah, she was in this year’s AFCC! I wasn’t able to consider going to that conference because I was traveling at that time. But I’m so glad you’re interested in Candy’s books. 🙂

  9. Pingback: #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy – let’s read more Filipino books! | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Choco Chip Hips by Agay Llanera | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

