Shiny, New Kindle Paperwhite

Back in 2010, I got my first ever Kindle. It was a Kindle Keyboard. It died two years later and I got a Kindle Touch to replace it. I thought my second Kindle will last only two years but surprisingly, I’ve had it for almost three years and it’s still doing fine. In that span of time, it’s traveled with me from the Philippines to Singapore. And also to the US and Europe when I’ve gone there for vacations. It’s been a steady companion but I’ve been tempted to get the Kindle Paperwhite ever since it was released. I just felt like having a built-in light on my Kindle would make it easier for me to read. I would be able to read wherever I wanted without worrying about how good the light is. When the Kindle Voyage came out, I couldn’t decide whether I should get that or the Paperwhite. It’s taken me months to finally make a decision! The Paperwhite won when Amazon released a new version towards the end of June, which has an increased resolution.

The arrival of a package containing these brightened up my Monday:

Kindle Paperwhite

2015 Kindle Paperwhite and navy blue leather cover

Real life has been keeping me busy so unfortunately, I haven’t had a chance to dive in and play around with my new toy. But I’m planning to read this as soon as I can:

Kindle Paperwhite - Harder We Fall

Roasted hazelnut mocha, banana chocolate bread and an ARC of The Harder We Fall by Mina V. Esguerra

I’m doing my best to buy and read more ebooks because it’s just more practical to do so. Since I’m working in Singapore and I keep moving around because I don’t have a permanent residence here. Also, most of the review copies that I receive are ebooks because I live all the way over in Southeast Asia. So the Kindle Paperwhite is totally a valid purchase for me, right? LOL. Hopefully this new Kindle will last several years too.

What about the rest of you, do you have Kindles or any other kind of ereader? Care to share what your digital reading experience has been like?

9 thoughts on “Shiny, New Kindle Paperwhite

  1. I love my Kindle! It’s an old version (non-touchscreen but no physical keyboard). I’ve dropped it a couple times so there are little permanent splotches of e-ink on the screen, but I will use it until it no longer functions. It’s so good for reading on the subway, while traveling, etc. I’ve had mine for 3.5 years and I don’t know what I’m going to do when it finally dies! The Paperwhite looks cool because of the brighter screen, but I just can’t make myself get on board with a touchscreen ereader – I much prefer something with physical buttons.

    • That’s the downside of Amazon changing the Kindle designs, you can’t order another model similar to yours if you wanted to. I agree that physical buttons are nice but I don’t have any issues with the touchscreen, my smartphone also has a touchscreen anyway so I’m good with that. The built-in light is really convenient! My reading corners in our current flat are not as bright as I would like them to be so I’m glad I now have the Paperwhite. I’m sure it will be great when I have to read on flights too.

  2. Congrats on your new Paperwhite! I have an older model Paperwhite and really love it for reading at night. And well, I take it with me wherever I go! I like that you can adjust the brightness and font, create collections (I mainly organize by release month) and update Goodreads. Let us know how you like it when you get the chance to play with it.

    • Same! I take my Paperwhite wherever I go too. It’s always in my handbag. I’ve read two books on it and I’m loving it so far. I keep wanting to read more (if only I had more time). Yes, I love that the brightness can be adjusted and this new Bookerly font seems cool. I haven’t played around with updated Goodreads because I don’t always have wifi access. Yeah, I could do an update post about how it’s going when I’ve had the chance to play around.

  3. I have the Paperwhite too – LOVE it. The light makes such a huge difference. I was worried I wouldn’t get along with the touchscreen but had no probs. The only issues I have is that it’s slowing down a bit (because I have so many books on it) and also seems to freeze a bit when it’s cold – that could be my imagination though!

    I’ve been eyeing the new version, but also debating if I should splurge and get the Voyage. Maybe if Amazon do a sale…

    Li

    • The light really does make a huge difference! I didn’t realize how dark my room is (even with a reading lamp) until I got the Paperwhite. I can’t believe I waited so long. I’m trying not to fill it up with books, only downloading books into it as I read them so I won’t have to worry about memory space.

      Go for the new version if you feel like you need it! πŸ™‚ The Voyage doesn’t seem like it has that many advantages over the Paperwhite now that Amazon has increased the resolution of the latter in its latest version.

  4. Pingback: Addison Hill Series by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

