Europe 2015: Munich Update

I think most people who include Germany in their Europe itinerary usually choose to go to Berlin. But when I booked the ticket to Prague and was trying to decide what other city to visit, Munich was the first place that I thought of. Mainly because I wanted to see Neuschswanstein Castle, which I will talk more about in a different post. If I had done more research, I probably would have chosen to visit the Romantic Road from Frankfurt to Munich, which is a tour of medieval towns in Bavaria. I can always go back, right? πŸ™‚ While Munich is not always an obvious choice when planning a European tour, I did enjoy exploring and discovering more about Bavaria’s capital. As a bonus, I got to meet a long-time online friend in person! Again, more on that in another post.

It’s funny how we visited as many castles and palaces as we can during our trip. Our first full day in Munich, we chose to explore Nymphenburg Palace and its surrounding gardens:
Nymphenburg Palace Nymphenburg Palace - swan
Nymphenburg Palace - Great Hall Nymphenburg Palace - golden carriage
Nymphenburg Palace - view from gardens Nymphenburg park

Park palaces Amalienburg and Badenburg:
Amalienburg Badenburg

The Hall of Mirrors inside Amelienburg, a smaller version of the one in Versailles:
Amalienburg - Hall of Mirrors

During one of the days we were in Munich, we met up with one of Kim’s friends and she showed us around the area. We visited the elaborately decorated Asamkirche, which was built by the Asam brothers to be their private church:
Asamkirche

We explored the outdoor market Viktualienmarkt:
Viktualienmarkt - may pole Viktualienmarkt - fountain

The famous Marienplatz:
Marienplatz

Shakespeare and Co. is an indie bookstore in the Marienplatz area. It has the same name as the renowned bookstore in Paris. Unfortunately, most of their stocks are German titles so we weren’t able to buy anything:
Shakespeare and Co. Munich Shakespeare and Co. Munich - inside

The Munich Residenz is another royal palace located in the city. It was previously used by the monarchs of the House of Wittelsbach.
Munich Residenz - outside

The Antiquarium, the oldest room in the Residenz. It was created to house the royalty’s collection of antique sculptures. If these were antique during the 1800s, then they’re now ancient:
Antiquariam - side

One of the mirrors inside the palace and a super fancy cabinet for china:
Residenz Munich - mirror Residenz - china cabinet

Ancestral Gallery, which displays portraits of the rulers of Bavaria:
Residenz - Hall of Ancestors

A bejeweled crown and a ceremonial sword from the Treasury inside the Residenz:
Residenz treasury - crown Residenz treasury - sword

A traditional German meal that I had was cheese spatzle with Hacker-Pschorr Radler (beer with lemonade and my favorite out of all the beers we tried):
Munich - cheese spatzle with Radler

Have you visited Munich? If you have, what did you think of it? I’m not aware of any books set in Munich but I believe The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is set in a city nearby.

12 thoughts on “Europe 2015: Munich Update

  1. I’ll be honest and say that I love these posts because you share such beautiful photos! I always enjoy reading about people’s travel adventures, but I’m especially enamored seeing posts about Europe. This place looks BEAUTIFUL.

    • Thank you for always having such nice things to say about my travel posts! I’m glad you enjoy looking at them. I’m sure I’ll feel the same when I see YOU post Europe pictures. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m very much enjoying reading of your recent travels. I’ll agree with Alexa and say that your photos are wonderful.

    • Thank you, Kareni! I’m glad you like that. Comments like yours and Alexa make it worth my while to write travel posts like these (even though they’re not book-related) πŸ˜›

  3. Yay ^^. I still wish you had gotten the full-on Bavarian sky at Nymphenburg (and that they’d put the fountain in front of the entrance on). This week is supposedly going to reach the 30s (degrees Celsius) over here.

  4. Pingback: Blogger/Reader Meet Up: Estara | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Europe 2015: Neuschwanstein Castle | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Europe 2015: Regensburg Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Best of 2015 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

