Reading makes us strong

I make a point of keeping my blogging life separate from my work life but I just wanted to say that last week was a difficult and demotivating week in the office. I know this will sound vague but basically, there were some big changes that weren’t managed well and that has an effect on morale. Anyway, this quote popped up on my Goodreads app on Friday:

“I feel free and strong. If I were not a reader of books I could not feel this way.” ― Walter Tevis, Mockingbird

I haven’t read any books written by Walter Tevis so I don’t have any context for these lines. But I think they stand well enough on their own and they resonated so strongly with me. I was just thinking that even though I’m bothered by stuff at work, I’m so relieved that I’m in the middle of a good book that is doing a great job of distracting me from my thoughts. Which means reading is indeed making me feel stronger or at least able to handle the situation better. It’s a good reminder of how we should never underestimate the power of a good book.

8 thoughts on “Reading makes us strong

  1. I love this, Chachic. I think it’s so true, too! Reading is a great way to escape, a distraction from the doldrums or trials of everyday life. It teaches us, it shapes us, it lets us leave our problems behind – at least for a little while. Glad reading is a source of strength for you like it is for me ❤

    • It’s amazing how much comfort I can find in reading. I also love that I can tweet about having a bad day and say I need a good book stat and people will understand. So glad that we have our love of books to keep us strong.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

