Sunday Book Haul: June 21

I had a nice and productive Sunday which started off with brunch with my flatmate at a new-to-us cafe called Symmetry. There are so many indie cafes in Singapore so it’s always fun to try new places and see whether their food and coffee are any good. Symmetry is one of the good ones, I wouldn’t mind going back there to try other items on their menu. After brunch, we headed back to the flat to catch up on weekend chores. And then I was able to laze around for a bit, always a good thing!

Late afternoon, I headed off to the bookstore. I wanted to get the UK edition of Uprooted by Naomi Novik, which is our book club’s choice for this month. But even though their website said the book was available in their main store, they didn’t have any copies. So I browsed around and grabbed these titles:

June 21 - book haul

This Is Hong Kong by M. Sasek – which is part of the This Is series of books

Rat Queens Volume Two: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth – I have a copy of Volume 1 but haven’t read it yet! I was pleasantly surprised to discover that Volume 2 was already out.

Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol – I’ve heard nothing but good things about this children’s graphic novel.

There was also a copy of This One Summer that I considered getting but it was a damaged copy so I let it go. I’ve been reading mostly ebooks lately because they’re more convenient (easier to acquire and takes less space) but I can’t resist getting physical copies of illustrated books and graphic novels.

As if getting new books wasn’t enough, I also grabbed these other goodies: nail polish from Illamasqua (I’ve been waiting for them to restock these two shades) and almonds coated with dark chocolate from La Cure Gourmande:

June 21 - other goodies

What about the rest of you, how was your weekend? Did you visit a bookstore or buy any books? I always feel like weekends go by so fast. Fingers crossed that I’ll feel the same way about the work week!

6 thoughts on “Sunday Book Haul: June 21

    • These Illamasqua nail polish shades look even better in person! I’m pretty happy with this haul too. If I can’t find the UK edition of Uprooted, I’ll probably just get the ebook.

  1. Looks like a successful shopping trip! I have a copy of This is Ireland available to pick up from the library tomorrow thanks to your Prague post. There are a few more books to pick up there, too, including Devon Monk’s Infinity Bell and Kylie Scott’s Deep.

    • Oh that’s awesome that your library has a copy of one of the This Is books! I actually saw several of them at the bookstore yesterday (Rome and Venice were tempting) but I decided to get only the book that represents a place I’ve been to. I’m not familiar with those two other authors but I hope you enjoy your library haul. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

