Chachic's Book Nook

Europe 2015: Cesky Krumlov Update

9 Comments

Cesky Krumlov is a UNESCO World Heritage medieval town (or city?) about three hours away from Prague. When we were planning day trips out of Prague, I initially hesitated about going to Cesky Krumlov because it felt like the travel time would be too long. But the pictures that I’ve seen showed how gorgeous the place is that I didn’t mind the road trip as much. Like with the Kutna Hora day trip, we joined a tour company for the day just because it’s hassle-free when it comes to transportation arrangements. The downside is that we felt a bit rushed while going around. We definitely felt like we could have spent more time in Cesky Krumlov, maybe even spend a night there. If I had to choose a favorite out of all the places we visited, I would go for Cesky Krumlov with its mix of renaissance, baroque and gothic buildings. It was founded in the 13th century and was developed until the 17th century. It really is very beautiful, the kind that can make you say, “ARE YOU KIDDING ME WITH THIS?” If I could find a job in that place, I would live there. It looked like the setting of every fairytale or medieval fantasy novel that I’ve read. There’s even a medieval castle that has been very well-maintained. I don’t know why but a city or a town instantly looks better in my eyes when it’s beside a body of water. And the Vltava River meanders around Cesky Krumlov. Again, I don’t think my words can do enough justice on this place so I will let the pictures I’ve taken show you what I mean.

Cesky Krumlov again - for blog

Cesky Krumlov

Our first view of Cesky Krumlov included a bridge that looked like an aqueduct with corridors on top connecting the palace to servants quarters.

Cesky Krumlov - aqueduct / bridge Cesky Krumlov - aqueduct / bridge 2

After going through the bridge, we were treated to this view:

Cesky - first view of bridge Cesky - first view with man

We walked around the town leading to the main square, where there is a fountain dedicated to victims of the plague, since this disease took so many lives in Cesky Krumlov. There were some nice cobbled streets and of course, I had to take a shot of their manhole cover with the town’s seal.

Cesky - fountain Cesky - manhole cover

Cesky - nice cobbled street Cesky - water and town

Cesky Krumlov’s palace is the second largest in Czech Republic, after Prague Castle. We joined a lovely tour of the palace but unfortunately, pictures weren’t allowed inside. So I can only share some exterior shots of the palace, and also a bear in one of the bridges leading to the courtyard.

Cesky Krumlov Palace Cesky - bear

A fuller view of the tower:

Cesky Krumlov Palace 2

The panoramic shots at the start of this post are views from the palace and here’s another one from the same vantage point:

Cesky - view from palace

All pictures were taken using my phone’s camera. I’m sorry if the brightness and contrast aren’t consistent in all the pictures – I edited some using my laptop and some using Instagram. Have any of you visited Cesky Krumlov? While I don’t know of any books set in this gorgeous place, I’m sure I’ll be reminded of it whenever I read a well-written medieval fantasy or fairy tale.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

9 thoughts on “Europe 2015: Cesky Krumlov Update

  1. I’m so incredibly jealous of your trip, I can’t even talk to you right now.

    (SO GLAD YOU HAD A GREAT TIME! the pictures are stunning!)

  2. This place looks so lovely! I definitely think you guys made a good choice in going out of your way to visit, because it totally looks like a fantasy novel come to life 😀

  3. This is really beautiful… I have to save money so I can visit there!

  4. Pingback: Europe 2015: Regensburg Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Snapshot From a Book: Daughter of Smoke and Bone | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Best of 2015 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

