This Is… Children’s Travel Books

In my recap about my vacation in Prague, I mentioned that I bought only one book during our entire trip. It was a children’s book about Prague called This Is Prague by Michaela Kukovicova and Olga Cerna. I got it from an indie bookstore that was mostly selling Czech books and it was the last copy that they had. I probably would have been tempted to buy more than one if they more stocks. As mentioned in a previous post, I also thought it was pretty cool that the bookstore sold postcards with illustrations based on the book. wpid-img_20150618_121212.jpg I looked up the title and found out from the publisher’s page that it’s actually a tribute to Czech writer M. Sasek’s “This Is…” series of travel books for children. Then one of the friends I traveled with last year reminded me that he got a copy of This Is Paris from Shakespeare and Company. Now I want all of the books in the series that feature places I’ve visited! That would be This is Paris, This Is Munich, This Is San Francisco and This Is Hong Kong. I wouldn’t mind collecting all of the books in the series but I’ll prioritize the places I’ve been to because the books would make nice souvenirs. I need to find a way to get these. Unfortunately, they’re not available in Book Depository and shipping would be very expensive if I order them off Amazon. I tried looking for these books in bookstores in Singapore but they’re not available. Sigh, I’ll have to think of another way of hunting them down. This Is ParisThis Is MunichThis Is Hong KongThis is San Francisco Are you familiar with M. Sasek’s books? Are there any other illustrated travel books that you think are fun to read and collect?

2 thoughts on “This Is… Children’s Travel Books

  1. Pingback: Sunday Book Haul: June 21 | Chachic's Book Nook

  2. Pingback: MT Masking Tape Store for SG50 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

