Europe 2015: Prague Update

Dobry den! I have a feeling my blog will look more like a travel blog than a book blog as I post updates about my recent trip. But I like doing these recaps because it also helps me remember the experience and I feel like I can look back and reminisce whenever I’m in the mood to do so. For the first leg of our trip, we traveled to the beautiful city of Prague in Czech Republic.

Whenever I find out that a friend has been lucky enough to go around Europe, I would ask what his or her favorite city was. I’ve gotten Prague as an answer several times. I found out more about this fairytale city when I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor and that just further strengthened my resolve to visit it one day. So when January rolled around and I started planning for my Europe trip this year, I knew Prague had to be one of the destinations that I’ll visit. And the city didn’t disappoint. It was even more charming and beautiful that I expected. Some parts of the city are modern (which is to be expected) while others feel like they’ve been frozen in time. It was a place steeped with so much history and I wanted to just absorb as much as I can in the days that we spent there. I fell in love with Prague the same way I fell in love with Paris last year. I think the pictures will do a much better job of showing everyone how beautiful Prague is. Here’s is a lovely view of the city from the palace gardens:

Prague - for blog

The iconic astronomical clock and Tyn Cathedral in Old Town, which is a UNESCO World Heritage site:

Europe 2015 - Prague astronomical clock Europe 2015 - Tyn with horses

Another shot of Old Town when we came back another day. You could see how big a difference the nice weather makes when it comes to historic buildings. Also, we noticed that even the manhole covers are pretty in Prague:

Europe 2015 - Tyn with blue skies Europe 2015 - Prague manhole cover

Another famous landmark in Prague is the historic Charles Bridge, which crosses the river Vltava. It was super crowded with tourists and vendors so I’m quite proud that I was able to get a shot of one section of the bridge WITHOUT any people in it. I also loved how the sunlight bathed the bridge and the surrounding areas in such a warm glow:

Europe 2015 - Charles Bridge Europe 2015 - Charles Bridge sunlight

We walked around the palace gardens and saw quite a nice view of Prague Castle. We went back another day to explore the insides of the castle (where pictures were not allowed) as well as the grounds within.

Europe 2015 - Prague Castle garden Europe 2015 - Prague Castle

We were awestruck by the magnificent St. Vitus Cathedral which is inside the grounds of the Prague Castle:

Europe 2015 - St. Vitus Europe 2015 - St. Vitus clock

Europe 2015 - St. Vitus inside Europe 2015 - St. Vitus Mucha panel

The stained glass panel above was designed by world-renowned Czech artist Alfons Mucha and because Kim is a Mucha fangirl, we also visited the Mucha Museum in the city. No pictures inside so this was all I got:

Europe 2015 - Mucha Museum

Some traditional Czech dishes that we had: pork knuckle, beef goulash with bread dumplings, beef sirloin with cream sauce served with bread dumplings, potato dumplings with bacon. Of course, served with Czech beer.

Europe 2015 - Czech dishes Europe 2015 - Czech dishes 2

And because we are book nerds, we took note of bookstores whenever we saw them:

Europe 2015 - Prague indie bookstore Europe 2015 - Prague Knihy books

From the indie bookstore above, I bought the one and only book that I managed to buy for our entire trip. It’s a children’s book called This Is Prague and I loved its quirky illustrations. Even better? The bookstore also sold postcards based on the book. Such a perfect souvenir for a book and postcard nerd like me.

Europe 2015 - This Is Prague Europe 2015 - This Is Prague with postcard

I feel like I can go on and on about Prague but I’ll leave you all with this write-up. Next up will be recaps of the day trips that we took from Prague to Kutna Hora and Cesky Krumlov. Have you been to Prague? What did you think of the city? If you know of any books set in Prague that you think I’ll enjoy reading, please feel free to recommend them!

14 thoughts on “Europe 2015: Prague Update

  1. Gah! Well, this is bringing up memories for me as well. I enjoy that I know from which exact spot you took some of your photos, lol. Wish I had stumbled across that indie bookstore as well! As I told you in some other form of social media, I couldn’t find any unique postcards in Prague. Sadface. Would loooove to go back to the Czech Republic someday!

    • Hahaha I had a similar reaction when I saw some of your Prague updates on Instagram. I knew where you were based on the pictures you posted. You should totally go back to Prague! It’s pretty near Budapest. πŸ˜› If you do decide to go back, let me know and I’ll look up the addresses of those bookstores. I should have taken note of the name of the souvenir shop where I got the wooden postcards.

      If I had known more about This Is Prague, I would have probably bought more copies! Apparently it’s sort of a tribute to M. Sasek’s travel books for children. Now I want to collect the books from places I’ve visited (This Is Paris, This Is Munich, This Is Hong Kong).

    • Aww Alexa, thank you for the lovely comment! I love seeing travel pictures from friends and living vicariously through them. So that’s another reason why I wanted to do write ups of my recent trip, so friends can learn and appreciate the places I visited too. πŸ˜€

  2. Pingback: Europe 2015: Kutna Hora Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: This Is… Children’s Travel Books | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Europe 2015: Cesky Krumlov Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Europe 2015: Munich Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Europe 2015: Neuschwanstein Castle | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Europe 2015: Regensburg Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Snapshot From a Book: Daughter of Smoke and Bone | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Best of 2015 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

