Ten Authors I REALLY Want to Meet

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Living in Southeast Asia means there aren’t a lot of opportunities for me to meet authors in person. There aren’t that many authors who travel to this part of the world but I was given the chance, there are certain authors I would love to meet in person.

Favorite authors I’ve hosted blog events for:

Megan Whalen Turner (Queen’s Thief Week) – Hands down one of my favorite authors of all time, I would just want to bask in her brilliant presence. No need to even speak or anything like that.

Elizabeth Wein (EWein Special Ops) – I have been an EWein fan since I discovered her Lion Hunters series (years before Code Name Verity came out) and I’ve exchanged emails with her from time to time. She is such an awesome person, I think it would be wonderful to have a face to face conversation with her.

Laura Florand (Amour et Florand) – I don’t know how she does it but Laura is so friendly and responsive to her fans! She’s another favorite author of mine whom I’ve had the good fortune of connecting with online. It would be great to chat with her in person and ask questions about her books and the research that goes into her writing (e.g. traveling to Paris and Grasse and meeting artisan chocolatiers and perfumers).

Melina Marchetta (Marchetta Madness) – Of course I would love to meet the Queen of Aussie YA! Jellicoe Road opened my eyes to the wonderful world of contemporary YA novels, it was the book that convinced me to try more from this genre.

Friendly authors I’ve interacted with through social media and would love to see face to face:
Rachel Neumeier
Andrea K. Host

Authors I would love to attend signings or book events of (they have no idea I exist so I’d be happy with seeing them from afar or getting a book signed):
Robin McKinley
Kristin Cashore
Ilona Andrews
Liza Palmer

Authors I Would Love to Meet

In relation to this topic, I also wanted to enumerate ten bloggers I would be delighted to meet in person:
Holly of Book Harbinger
Angie of Angieville
Nomes of Inkcrush
Janice of Specfic Romantic
Brandy of Random Musings of a Bibliophile
Maureen of By Singing Light
Shae of Shae Has Left the Room
Sandy of Pirate Penguin Reads
Heidi of Bunbury in the Stacks
Flannery of The Readventurer

What about you, who are the authors or bloggers you’d love to meet in person?

14 thoughts on “Ten Authors I REALLY Want to Meet

  1. Aw man, you still consider me a blogger? 😉 I’d LOVE to meet you to, Chachic! Maggie told me all about meeting you. I’ve hung out with Holy twice and she’s so nice. Definitely a fun person to peruse a bookstore with. I am meeting Tatiana and Catie in just a few weeks and I seriously can’t wait. Of the authors you picked, I’d love to see most of them. The only one I’ve met is Kristin Cashore so far…

    You’re always welcome in Seattle!

    • Flann, of course! You’re a blogger on hiatus. As are a lot of our other reader friends who started blogging the same time we did. 😛 I had a lot of fun with Maggie! And yeah she told me that she’s met you too. I’m so jealous that you and Holly have seen each other twice. Must have been great. Oooh have fun with Catie and Tatiana, is it the first time you guys will be getting together?

      Wow, you’ve met Kristin Cashore. I think you’ve been lucky in terms of author and book events in your area! I remember some of the write ups that you use to do for those.

      I will let you know if I ever visit Seattle! And of course, let me know if you ever plan to visit Singapore or the Philippines. 😀

  2. Aw, thank you for including me on your list!! I hope one day we can meet in person 🙂

    I would love to meet Marie Rutkoski, Stephanie Perkins, Robin LaFevers or Rainbow Rowell. I’ve been lucky to have met some others (one of them being Kristin Cashore–SHE IS SO NICE!) and they’ve always been pleasant experiences thankfully. Although I always end up going mute or getting tongue-tied and just gushing about their work haha.

    • I hope so too! You’re so lucky that you’ve met Kristin Cashore. I think Stephanie Perkins and Rainbow Rowell would be fun to meet too. I’m not such a big fan of either Marie Rutkoski or Robin LaFevers though. LOL I feel like I will also just stare at some of these authors if I ever get to meet them. I’d be grateful if I managed to say something coherent.

  3. I LOVE so many of the varied authors you have here 🙂 My fave author to meet would definitely be Jaclyn Moriarty! I know one day I will have to make that happen 🙂

    I am sure one day we will meet! I am often jealous of Pete bc he travels the world so much and usually stops over in Singapore! (as most Aussie do on long trips). I always wish I was there so we could meet up! he also really wants to take me to the Philippines now since he loved it so much (he’s planing to go there again next year, too). so even if you move back to Mania I may find you over there one day 😉 Of course, you are welcome here in Oz with me whenever 🙂 Hopefully you will one day get to meet some of these authros on your list x

    • At least you’re already in the same country as Jaclyn Moriarty! That makes it a lot easier to find a way to meet her. 😛 I’m not even in the same continent as these authors on my list.

      Oh yeah, most people who travel to Oz have a stopover in Singapore. I hope he can bring you to one of his trips and we can see each other even if it’s just at the airport. I’m so glad he had a great time in the Philippines and that he’s willing to go back! I really hope you can go with him next time, it would be amazing to hear your thoughts on the Philippines.

  4. Pingback: Ten wishes I’d ask the book genie to grant | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

