Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I don’t want to be really close-minded and say that I will never read these books… If I was stuck in an island and these were the only books available, I’d probably make do with what I have. So I’ll just say it is unlikely that I will read them given that I already have an ever-expanding TBR pile of books that I’m interested in. Life is too short to read books you don’t like.

Some titles that real life friends sometimes assume that I’ve read just because they know I’m a reader, but I’m not really interested in picking them up:

A Game of Thrones Fifty Shades of Grey Gone Girl The Casual Vacancy The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

There are also cases where I’m disappointed by the first book in a series so I have no plans to read the sequels, such as:

Red Seas Under Red Skies Monsters of Men Crown of Midnight Insurgent Dragonfly in Amber

What about you, what are some books that you will unlikely read?

23 thoughts on “Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

  1. LOL at Insurgent. I thought the first one was fun but the second one was just awful for me. If you were disappointed by the first one, I can only imagine what YOU would think. I also never read Dragonfly in Amber but it wasn’t because I didn’t really like Outlander–I pretty much loved it. I just couldn’t get into the fact that everyone was different ages. Lame excuse, I know.

    I can totally see why you wouldn’t like the Dragon Tattoo series. When I saw that there, it didn’t surprise me at all because I wouldn’t put you and that series together (in terms of what you love to read:)). That said, it was the first audiobook I ever listened to and I did the whole series on my ipod while I traveled on the subway and I kept getting off and walking miles and miles home instead so I could prolong the time I was listening:) It was just so entertaining that I never wanted it to end.

    • I read Divergent right before my friend and I watched the film adaptation. I have no desire to read the sequel but I guess I wouldn’t mind watching the movie for that. Yeah, I found it weird that the Outlander sequel jumps forward 20 years. I wasn’t a fan of the first book so I’m not really interested in the second one. I liked The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley a lot better.

      Ha! I added the Dragon Tattoo book because friends have asked me if I’ve read it. I know it’s really not my thing so thanks for confirming that. πŸ™‚

    • I’ve heard feedback from other friends about the book and it doesn’t really sound that intriguing. I wouldn’t want to waste my time reading that.

    • Yeah, I’ve heard that the Sarah J. Maas keeps getting better with each book but I was so disappointed with Throne of Glass that I don’t really think I’ll be into the sequels. You’re right, we can’t all like the same books.

  2. No no no Crown of Midnight was WAY (and I mean WAY) better than Throne of Glass. Hope you change your mind about that one :). I agree with the rest though I actually would like to read A Game of Thrones sometime in the future.

    • It’s funny but the more hype a series gets, the more hesitant I am to read it. Especially if I already tried the first book and didn’t enjoy it as much as I expected. πŸ˜› But who knows, I might change my mind eventually. Have fun reading Game of Thrones!

  3. I liked the first Dragon Tattoo book, but it’s one of those where I can’t see myself going on with the series. Same with Divergent — the first book was fun, but it was enough for me. Gone Girl, I think it was The Book Smugglers’ review that made me drop that one on my permanent Don’t Bother list.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

