How did you come up with your blog name?

what

This post was inspired by a similar discussion in my friend Sandy’s blog, Pirate Penguin Reads. I got her permission to also talk about how I named my blog because it’s an interesting topic for all bloggers.

I maintained a personal blog on LiveJournal for years and when I started focusing on more book-related topics, I figured it would be a good idea to move to a different platform and start a book blog. I love the layouts and designs of WordPress blogs, I think they look clean and clutter-free. Now I’m not very creative when it comes to naming things so I went ahead and signed up on WordPress with “Chachic” as my username. After that, I had to figure out a blog name that would include my name and would also be related to books. I wanted the URL to match the blog name because I didn’t want to confuse people. I thought about it for a while and even asked some friends if they had any bright ideas and it was actually a friend who suggested I should go for Chachic’s Book Nook because of how it rhymed. I liked how it sounded so I settled on that name.

Not a very exciting story, huh? If I could go back in time and choose a blog name again, I would do it prior to signing up on WordPress so I would have more flexibility in choosing a name. I would have probably chosen Throwing Inkpots as my blog name if that was the case. That’s what my Tumblr blog is called and it’s a shout out to Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief series, one of my all-time favorite series. Actually, I just looked it up and it is possible for me to change my WordPress username but then I’ve had Chachic’s Book Nook since 2010 and that’s what people already know. It might create confusion if I change my blog name now (I have no problem changing blog banners though, which I did sometime in 2013).

Some samples of creative book blog names that I love:
The Book Smugglers
Angieville
SpecficRomantic
Inkcrush
Wear the Old Coat

How about the rest of you, care to share how you came up with your blog name?

15 thoughts on “How did you come up with your blog name?

  1. My blog title is not that spectacular or cool, but it fits perfectly to the books I’m reading, so I’m happy with it. I love reading happy books with a positive vibe, I love happy endings and nice characters, so “About Happy Books” as my blog name fits perfectly. I choose the name nearly seven years ago and I’m still very happy with it.

    • I like how positive your blog name is. 🙂 I also love reading about happy endings and characters who go through so much but emerge triumphant. If I was following your lead, I could have named my blog “Happily Ever After.” Much more creative than my current blog name.

  2. Mine is called “I Will Not Live in Vain” because that is the title of my memoir that I released just prior to starting the blog. I got that title by basing it off of an Emily Dickinson quote:

    “If I can stop one heart from breaking,
    I shall not live in vain;
    If I can ease one life the aching,
    Or cool one pain,
    Or help one fainting robin
    Unto his nest again,
    I shall not live in vain.”

  3. Ha – interesting question. I chose my blog name at random – I think I just went for one which was still available at WordPress.com. I wish I had spent a bit more time thinking about it… and yeah, I’d like to change it but it feels like way too much hassle.

    Li

    • What would you change it to if you got the chance? Yeah, I really don’t think I’ll change mine either because I’ve had it for so long and the (few) remaining readers of my blog might get confused.

      • Oh, I don’t know – something a bit more whimsical perhaps, something without books in the name! That’s the problem with rushing blog names 😉

      • Same with me! I thought I had to have the word “book” in my blog name but that’s not really the case. Now I feel like something from a book would have been better.

  4. I love your for including mine on your list, my friend, since I’ve always felt it somewhat lame. ❤

    I've always loved yours because it sounds cozy to me.

  5. I’m afraid my story isn’t very exciting – it’s the simplest declaration of my passion for books! As in, Alexa Loves Books. Not very creative! If I had thought it through a little more, I would probably have named it The LexiCon 🙂

  6. Because I’m trying to revive my book blog recently…I shall answer this! =) The original name, One More Page, was the first thing I thought of when I wanted to put up a book blog. It wasn’t too original, especially since there’s someone else with the same blog name. 😀 When I decided to change the name, I thought of my own reading quirks and realized how I always mentioned dog-earing my books, and there’s the name. =) (I still dog-ear my books. I just don’t always review them now. :D)

    • Haha thanks for dropping by to share your answer, Tina! Hope the blog revival is going well. There are also other book blogs that use “______’s Book Nook” as their blog name so mine isn’t all that original either. 😛 Your new blog name seems like a great choice since not a lot of readers dog-ear their books (I don’t do that) and would even be horrified at the idea that other people do that.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

