Chachic's Book Nook

Ten Book-Related Problems I Have

13 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I think any book blogger would have a list of problems related to books. Here are some of mine:

1. I keep staying up late to read books, not just for books that I’m thoroughly enjoying but also for books that I want to finish just so I can move on to the next one. Then I let Future Chachic deal with the lack of sleep and being a zombie at work. (I previously talked about this topic here.)

2. More blog-related than book-related: because of the point above (losing sleep over books), there are nights when I crash right after getting back to the flat at the end of the day. And I miss out on doing blog posts like Top Ten Tuesday even if I originally wanted to participate. This has happened several times.

3. I keep buying books even if I don’t have enough time to read them. The TBR pile just keeps expanding. This also results in another problem which is that I find it difficult to choose what to read because there are so many choices.

4. The heat and humidity in tropical countries (Philippines and Singapore) always makes me worry about foxing in my physical copies. Foxing is when books get age-related spots or turn brown. Even if I stored books inside bookshelves with glass doors, they still age faster than expected.

Foxing

5. My purse is always heavy because I have my Kindle or a physical copy of a book in it. Whenever I ask a friend or my mom to hold my purse for me, they always say something like, “What do you have in here, rocks?”

6. I have this tendency to forget the details of the books that I’ve read, even if I loved the book. I guess this is only natural because I read so much? But one of the reasons why I like having reviews is that it reminds of my thoughts about that particular title.

7. Moving can be a hassle because I have to pack and unpack books. Which I will be doing this coming weekend because the lease is up in our current flat and my friend and I are moving at the end of the month. I don’t even want to think about how I’ll transport my books when I move back home for good.

Moving - suitcase to shelf

8. I need to lose weight. Why is this a book-related problem? Because reading trumps exercising! Sigh, if only reading burned calories, I will be super fit by now.

9. I’m passionate about books and I think it would be great to have a job in the book industry but I don’t see a path to that from where I am currently in my career. Also, I’m that if I do end up in the book industry, will I get tired of books and reading and would want to find a different way of relaxing?

10. I’m currently based in Singapore. I’ve met some awesome bookish people through my blog and I would love to meet them in person but I live halfway across the world from where they are. Also, international shipping is expensive and it sucks that I can’t send as many book packages as I would like to.

What about the rest of you, what are the problems that you have as a reader or a book blogger?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “Ten Book-Related Problems I Have

  1. Future Chachic. Hehe. Love it.

  2. 1, 3, and 8 are my problems too! Thanks for sharing ❤ Bee @ Bee Reads Books

  3. Yes, to staying up too late reading. I’ve stayed up until almost 4 am when i need to get up at 6 for work the next day. Makes staying alert in boring meetings the next day extremely hard. 😛

    • What a coincidence, I just stayed up until 4am on Sunday night to finish I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios. Coffee becomes my best friend on days when I didn’t get enough sleep.

  4. #5,6 & 8! I can so relate. (And I didn’t mean to rhyme but there you go.)

    Lol if we could burn calories by reading, we’d all look like swimsuit goddesses! I mostly use backpack-type purses nowadays since I’m always carrying a book with me–sometimes when I’m feeling extra paranoid about my book, I even slip them in a bubble mailer (a used one since it’s already opened) so that my book is protected as it bounces around my bag. Same goes for my kindle. I don’t have a cover for it…which is silly of me tbh.

    • Backpacks seem like a good idea! But I don’t think I can get away with using a backpack in the office. 😛 That’s so cute that you even use envelopes with bubble wrap. I’m definitely not that paranoid about my books. I have a cover for my Kindle though – for my past two Kindles, I’ve gotten the Amazon covers because I like the perfect fit.

  5. Oh my goodness, yes to everything, especially moving with books! It’s such a hassle, I can’t imagine having to do it on a frequent basis…and I don’t even have *that* many books!

    • Moving really tires me out. Viewing flats, choosing, paperwork and payments, packing and unpacking. So much work! I have no idea how other people can do it on a regular basis. I’m done with packing my books – I was surprised that they fit in just one box. I’m patting myself on the back for focusing more on ebooks.

  6. >I need to lose weight. Why is this a book-related problem? Because reading trumps exercising! Sigh, if only reading burned calories, I will be super fit by now.

    YES. I really do take a book with me when I take my dogs to the walk on the nearby bike path. Then I try not to be so absorbed we all get run down by bikes.

  7. Pingback: My Favorite Top Ten Topics | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

