Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Places I Want to Read About

17 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a freebie and we can choose whatever topic we want. I LOVE to travel and I don’t get to do it often enough because of budget and time (meaning vacation days) constraints. Also I keep wanting to go home whenever there’s a long weekend because I get homesick if I stay away from Manila for too long. So because I can’t travel as much as I want, I love reading books that have such a strong sense of place that it feels like you’re right there with the characters. A good example of this is how Laura Florand writes about France. She has such a beautiful way with words that I feel like I’ve been to Paris or Grasse whenever I finish one of her books.

While I have a pretty eclectic taste when it comes to genres, I’m limiting my list to contemporary settings, because I want to picture these places as they are in the present. There are plenty of contemporary books set in the US, UK and Australia so even though I enjoy reading about those countries, I’m not including them in this list. So here are places I want to read more of:

Philippines – Home country, yo! I will never get tired of reading about home. But aside from Manila, I would also like to read about other beautiful places in the Philippines like Palawan, Cebu, Bohol, Davao, etc.

Singapore – I’m working in Singapore so of course, it would be interesting to read books set here. I’ve read some books that are partially set in Singapore but I don’t think they portray the country accurately so that’s a bit disappointing.

Cambodia – I’ve never been to the Angkor Wat and that’s a place that I wouldn’t mind reading more about.

South Korea – While there are a ton of Korean dramas available out there, I haven’t come across a novel that’s even just partially set in Korea.

Japan – Very modern but still steeped in culture makes Japan a great setting. Also, I love Japanese food.

Czech Republic – I’ve been dreaming of going to Prague because I’ve heard from so many people that it’s a gorgeous place.

Germany – I’ve read historical fiction set in Germany but I haven’t heard of any contemporary titles that I can check out. I would love to visit Germany someday, especially Munich (with a day trip to the real life castle that inspired Disney’s version).

Italy – Rome, Venice, Florence, Amalfi Coast. So many scenic locations in Italy that can be the perfect setting for romance novels. And yes, Italian food is also something that I love!

Greece – I’ve been wanting to visit Greece ever since I read Greek mythology when I was in grade school. I think Athens would be lovely. Santorini is a popular tourist destination and also seems very picturesque from what I’ve seen.

Russia – I have a Russian co-worker who constantly talks about his homeland and everything he says just encourages me to visit the country. Also, I’ve tried Russian food and it’s delicious.

If you have recommendations for contemporary titles set in any of these places, feel free to let me know. What about you, what are the places that you would love to read about?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Places I Want to Read About

  1. It might be worth checking out some literature in translation. For Japan, ‘The Guest Cat’ has been huge recently, and I think Banana Yoshimoto is worth checking out as well. Look Who’s Back is a controversial example of contemporary German literature- it’s a satire in which Hitler arrives in the 21st century and becomes a star (although not to everybody’s tastes definitely!)

  2. I love this topic! I’d really enjoy some good contemporary books (a la Laura Florand) set in most of these places. Especially Germany.

    • Yes to Germany! It would be great to read contemporary books set there. Actually, I would love to read books a la Laura Florand set in all these places. She does such an excellent job of making the setting come alive.

  3. Nice topic!! There are so many places I want to visit as well! Here’s my TTT post for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/01/top-ten-tuesday-authors-id-like-to-meet.html

    • Yeah, there are a ton of places I want to visit! Since it’s difficult to get to all of them, I can read about them in the meantime. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by to comment!

  4. It’s not reading, but I love to watch travel documentaries.

    • I think I just automatically think of books because my main hobby is reading. 🙂 But travel documentaries sounds like a nice way of learning more about new places.

  5. Great topic! I love Japanese food as well. Have you read Dark Water by Koji Suzuki or The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yōko Ogawa for two good books set in Japan. If you like Mysteries there’s also The Sea King’s Daughter by Barbara Michaels and This Rough Magic by Mary Stewart which are both set in Greece.

    • Thanks for the recommendations! First time I’ve heard of these titles except for This Rough Magic. I’ve read Mary Stewart’s two other books set in Greece, The Moon-Spinners and My Brother Michael, but not This Rough Magic. I think of her books as historical fiction instead of contemporary though.

  6. If you’re a contemporary YA buff, Stout’s Hello, I Love You (being released later this year) sounds like a kdrama in text form (hopefully sans typical kdrama melodrama of protagonist with cancer). I feel mildly compelled to read it since I still (sometimes) listen to kpop circa 2008 haha.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • Hello, I Love You looks very interesting! And it has such a cute cover. I’m going to watch out for its release. Thanks for the heads up. 🙂 I don’t really listen to Kpop but I’ve watched Kdrama before. I want to watch a few more that have been highly recommended by friends.

  7. Love this topic choice!

    And yes to every single one of these.

  8. Funny story – I want to write about the Philippines. If I keep on writing, perhaps one day you’ll be reading something from me about our homeland 😉 Also, for Russia, The Bronze Horseman is angsty and complicated and frustrating, but really good!

    • Will look up The Bronze Horseman! I will happily read a book that you’ve written, Alexa. 🙂 I think that’s great that you want to write about our country.

  9. Lovely thoughts. I love to read about Germany, South Korea. I had read a lot about Japan. It seems great and i don’t think i can finish off reading.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

