Best of 2014

Happy New Year, everyone! Ever since I started blogging, I’ve been posting my favorite reads whenever the new year rolls around – you can check out my previous posts through these links: 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Usually, I post this list on the first day of the year but I wasn’t able to do so because I wanted to make the most out of my remaining days in Manila and then I had to fly back to Singapore and go back to work this week. My brain is still trying to catch up since it’s still in vacation mode. Without further ado, here are my best of 2014 books:

Black Dog Touchstone Trilogy Medair The Chocolate Temptation It Happened One Wedding

Open Road Summer Wildlife The Winter Sea Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews Burn for Me

Aside from these books, I also discovered two series that I loved:

The Ivy Series by Sarina Bowen
The Year We Fell Down The Year We Hid Away Blonde Date The Understatement of the Year

Dare Island by Virginia Kantra
Carolina Home Carolina Girl Carolina Man Carolina Blues

I really can’t wait for the next installments in these two series! From a blogging perspective, 2014 was the year I hosted Amour et Florand. This was an event that focused on Laura Florand’s writing because she has become one of my most favorite authors. Click here to view all the posts.

Amour et Florand

I was also able to (finally) meet in person Singapore book blogger Liyana of LiyanaLand.

Liyana Meet Up

I started two new blog features called Snapshot from a Book and Book to Movie but I don’t have a lot of posts under them since I’m all about blogging with no pressure. Other big things that occurred in 2014 were my move to a different flat and my first ever visit to Europe (links to my posts: Paris, Barcelona, Aix-ex-Provence and Milan).

Aix-en-Provence - Bibliothèque Méjanes

How about the rest of you, what were some of the best books that you read in 2014? What were the blogging or reading highlights of the year for you?

19 thoughts on “Best of 2014

    • *high five* Andrea’s books gave me the best book hangover. I’m so glad I read them in 2014. And yes, we both loved The Winter Sea. 😀 I need to read more Kearsleys!

  1. 2014 looks like it treated you well in terms of reading and having non bookish adventures!! I hope 2015 is even better for you overall 🙂

    I def intend on reading Laura’s books because I know how much you love her work! I have her books on my pile thanks to you 😉

    Without a doubt the best book I read in 2014 was Rainbow Rowell’s FANGIRL. I’m ridiculously excited that CARRY ON (it’s a thing!!! a real thing!!!) is coming out this year *squees*

    • It was a good reading year, it made me happy to read all of the favorites that I listed in this post. And yes, 2014 was also good in terms of non-bookish adventures – although the Europe trip included a visit to Shakespeare and Company in Paris and the library in Aix (pictured above). 🙂 Keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll get to travel again this year and visit more foreign bookstores and libraries!

      Yes, please read Laura Florand’s books! You’ll definitely enjoy them if you like romance.

      I did enjoy reading Fangirl and I don’t know why but I just didn’t love it enough for it to be included in my best of 2014.2

  2. Loved Burn for Me! I haven’t read Magic Breaks yet though. I’m waiting for the paperback to get released because otherwise it won’t match all the rest of my books in the series. 😛

    • Burn for Me was awesome! I reread it a few weeks after I first read it. I really can’t wait for the sequel. Oooh Magic Breaks was great too. I read the ebook so yes, it didn’t match the rest of my books in the series that are all in paperback. LOL I don’t mind since it’s easier for me to read ebooks nowadays.

      • I can’t wait for the sequel to burn for me either! It seems such a long time away though! 😛 I’m a little odd and if I bought the ebook of Magic Breaks I would feel the need to buy the paperback too. My physical collection must be complete! 😉

      • Yes, it’s going to be a long wait for the Burn for Me sequel. Sigh. We just have to distract ourselves with other books. 😛

        I used to be particular about collecting matching editions for my books too. But then I moved to Singapore and since I don’t have a permanent flat here, it’s easier to read ebooks than collect print copies.

  3. Lovely year in review, Chachic. Your best of books make me smile. I’ve read one Virginia Kantra book–Mad Dog and Annie. It’s part of her Sweet Home Carolina series, I gather. I liked it well enough to be curious about her others. I’ll have to give the first Dare Island book a go.

    • Aww thanks, Angie. I haven’t read Mad Dog and Annie so I’m not sure how that compares to the Dare Island books but yes, please give at least Carolina Home a try. I think you might like it. Your comment just made me realize that I haven’t posted my review of the series – will try to do that soon.

  4. Pingback: Dare Island Series by Virginia Kantra | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: New Release: Black Dog Short Stories by Rachel Neumeier | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Pure Magic by Rachel Neumeier | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Best of 2015 | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Best of 2016 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

