Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is goals and resolutions for the coming year. Here are some of mine:

Participate in more Top Ten Tuesday topics. There are so many interesting topics for Top Ten Tuesday that I wanted to participate in but I kept missing them because of various reasons like working overtime and then crashing when I get back to the flat. I should find ways of preparing posts in advance.

Read more physical books from my own TBR pile. I have a pile of unread physical copies both in Manila and in Singapore. During my first year in Singapore, I kept bringing back books whenever I went to visit Manila because I find it comforting to have a full bookshelf where I’m based. But I need to be better about reading them! It’s just so much easier for me to read ebooks nowadays because I usually bring my Kindle with me wherever I go.

My bookshelf in Singapore

My bookshelf in Singapore

Buy ebooks instead of paperbacks and hardcovers. This is connected to my earlier point – I need to stop buying print copies to keep my physical TBR pile from growing. I don’t have a permanent place in Singapore because I’m just renting a room in a flat and I keep moving when the lease ends so it’s such a pain to pack and unpack books whenever I move.

Read more Filipino fiction. I’m making an exception in buying physical books when it comes to Filipino fiction. I would happily buy books written by Filipino authors to show my support. I’ve bought several of them during my current vacation and I’m looking forward to reading them.

Visit other blogs and leave more comments. Back when I had more time for blogging, I used to read all of the posts in the blogs that I follow and comment as much as I can. I haven’t been able to do that for ages but I do visit blogs when I see links shared on Twitter or Facebook. I’m going to try and visit and comment on more blogs next year because I know how fun it is to receive blog comments.

Reread more old favorites. I’ve reread some of my favorite books in the past few months and I should try to do that more often in 2015.

Host another blog event focusing on a favorite author. I LOVE promoting books written by favorite authors, which is why I’ve hosted events like Amour et Florand, EWein Special Ops, Marchetta Madness and Queen’s Thief Week. If time permits, I would love to do a similar event next year. Two authors I would love feature are Robin McKinley and Ilona Andrews.

Keep posting bookstagram pictures. I love Instagram and it’s a lot easier for me to post pictures of books rather than publish a blog post. It’s also fun for me to interact with bloggers and authors on Instagram. If you have a smart phone, I think it’s a good social network to sign up for because it’s pretty easy to use. I also re-post some of Instagram pictures here on the blog to brighten up my posts.

Instagram - December 2014

Visit one of the places from my Top Ten Places I Want to Visit Because of Books. I would love to make this happen but I’m not sure if it’s possible. I really, really want to visit Europe again next year but I have no concrete plans yet. I still need to find friends to travel with.

Keep blogging without pressure. We all know that blogging takes a lot of time and effort. We keep doing it because we love reading and we want to share the experience. Since I moved to Singapore, I’ve been having a difficult time balancing reading and blogging with everything else that I needed to do like work and chores. There are times when I’ve considered stopping for good but then I feel like I would miss blogging too much. So I just need to keep my no pressure policy and just blog whenever I have the time and inclination for it.

Those are my goals and resolutions for 2015 related to reading and blogging. What are some of yours?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015

  1. The resolution for blogging without pressure is the one that I am definitely carrying over to 2015. I stopped feeling bad for not being able to post as much content as I used to or as consistently because I have a lot happening irl! Blogging is something to do for fun and it should never be a chore.

    I’m also considering buying e-books too. Or at least checking out more e-books from my library….also I’m going to be a library junkie in 2015 because I need to save up every cent I earn for grad school x.x

    EEP I would love to see another one of your bookish events. They are so fun πŸ™‚

    • We should all blog without pressure! We’re doing this for fun and I’ve noticed that people slow down or stop bloggging altogether when big things happen in real life. Sure, I feel like I’ve lost followers and commenters because I don’t blog as often as I used to do but at least I’m much more relaxed about it now. My blog is still here and it’s not going anywhere. πŸ™‚

      You should definitely take advantage of your library, especially if you can borrow ebooks from them! I would totally do that if I had access to a great ebook library.

      Aww thanks for being supportive of my blog events. πŸ˜€

  2. I have a lot of similar goals! (although I have not written them out as such.

    I only have about ten books in my physical TBR that I havent tried, but I really want to finally kill them off this year! The longer they sit there, the less inclined I feel to pick them up for some reason?

    I definitely plan on doing rereads more this year too. Especially when I get stuck in a book clump (which seems to be a lot lately). I want to reread the books I picked as faves of the year over the last few years.

    I struggle with buying ebooks bc I know if the book turns out to be a fave i will want a physical copy for my shelf and then I’ll be buying it twice…

    Love seeing you in my blog feed xo

    • Wow, only ten books in your physical TBR pile?! I really should try to narrow down my physical pile this year. It’s just hard because it’s a lot easier for me to carry around my Kindle. The Kindle option is also great when I can’t decide what to read next since I can go through the ebooks that I have in there.

      Rereading favorites from the previous years when you’re in a book slump sounds like a great idea! I’ve noticed that I tend to reread when I don’t feel like starting a new book. At least that way, I know I’ll still be reading a good one.

      If I was still permanently based in Manila, I would really prefer having physical copies because like you said, I would want to have a hardcover or paperback if a book becomes a favorite. If not, I can always just pass on my copy. But because I’m working in Singapore and I keep moving flats when the lease ends, it’s just easier to get ebooks.

      Thanks for dropping by to comment, Nomes! Always nice to chat with you about books. πŸ˜€

  3. I love your resolutions list! I’m particularly fond of three items on it though:

    (1) Reading more of my owned physical books is something that matters to me this year! I’m making a conscientious effort to read at least one or two in between other books (new releases or review books), and it’s been working for January so far. Let’s hope it stays that way.

    (2) Rereading old favorites is a goal for me this year too! I have copies of a lot of books that I really loved when I read them, and I want to revisit them and immerse myself in them once again.

    (3) Bookstagram! I definitely want to get better at this, because I love sharing photos of my books.

    Also, the blogging without pressure? TOTALLY AGREE TOO.

    • Oh wow, you have rules to follow about reading more of your owned physical copies. I should do the same! Maybe after my friend and I move to our new flat because pretty soon, I would have to pack up my physical books.

      When it comes to old favorites, I usually just go with what I feel like reading. I pick up an old favorite when the mood strikes. πŸ™‚

      Bookstagram for me is a bit tough because I read more on my Kindle. It’s difficult to make pictures look interesting with just the Kindle so I usually try to be more creative. LOL.

      Yes to blogging without pressure!

  4. Pingback: Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2016 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

