Book Haul: December 2014 in Manila

I haven’t done a book haul post in ages! Probably because I usually just post on Instagram if I receive books because it’s easier to keep that account updated. Also, I’ve been trying to read more ebooks instead of physical books because I keep moving in Singapore whenever the lease ends and it’s such a pain to pack and unpack paperbacks and hardcovers. I did acquire some books since I landed in Manila for the holidays so I felt that an update was in order.

I have two godsons at the moment, a toddler and an eight-year-old. I try to live up to my title as Book Godmother and I give both of them books for their birthdays and for Christmas. For this year, I grabbed some kiddie books written by Filipino authors for them to enjoy:

Christmas 2014 - gifts for godsons

Tall Story by Candy Gourlay
EDSA by Russell Molina
Isang Harding Papel by Augie Rivera

While shopping for books for my godsons, I also bought some Filipino titles for myself:

Christmas 2014 - books for myself

Mythspace, Volume 1 edited by Paolo Chikiamco
Alternative Alamat: Stories Inspired by Philippine Mythology edited by Paolo Chikiamco
High Tide at Midnight (Trese, # 6) by Budjette Tan and Kajo Baldisimo
Shine by Candy Gourlay

Last but certainly not the least, I received a surprise gift from fellow Filipino book blogger Tin of Rabbitin! It was such a thoughtful gift because I’ve wanted a copy of The Merchant of Marvels and the Peddler of Dreams for ages. Also, I usually only receive books at Christmastime from my Secret Santa because friends in real life are pretty clueless on what titles to get for me. They’re worried that they might buy a book that I already have a copy of. So thank you, Tin! πŸ™‚

Christmas 2014 - gift from Tin of Rabbitin

What about the rest of you, did you give or receive any books as Christmas gifts?

7 thoughts on “Book Haul: December 2014 in Manila

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

