Top New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

I wanted to participate in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic: New-to-Me Authors in 2014 but I’ve been having long days at work lately and I haven’t been able to open my laptop to blog. I did this topic last year and you can see my list here. Since I still want to talk about authors I discovered this year, I’m just going to go ahead and list them even if it’s already Saturday in this part of the world (yay for blogging without pressure).

Open Road Summer with Marina Bay Sands in the background

Open Road Summer with Marina Bay Sands in the background

Susanna Kearsley – I’m glad I finally got to read a Susanna Kearsley novel this year, she’s been on my radar for a while now. I found The Winter Sea a lovely read and I’m looking forward to the rest of her books.

Sarina BowenThe Ivy Series is such an excellent new adult series set in a fictional Ivy League college. I devoured all the books one right after the other and they all have such swoon-worthy romances. Can’t wait for the next installment in the series!

Emery Lord – Emery Lord’s debut novel Open Road Summer is good read that has some of my favorite things in a YA book: road trips, strong friendships, music and (of course!) slow burn romance.

Virginia Kantra – I’m still working on a review for the Dare Island series but I want to take this opportunity to recommend Virginia Kantra’s books to fans of contemporary romance. It’s a great series with a cozy island setting and I loved the strong ties of the Fletcher family.

Rosamund Hodge – I found Cruel Beauty an interesting retelling of Beauty and the Beast and can’t wait to read more from this author.

Linnea SinclairGames of Command was a satisfying sci-fi romance and I’m glad it’s a standalone novel. I’m curious about this author’s other books.

Matcha soy milk with Virginia Kantra's ebooks

Matcha soy milk with Virginia Kantra’s ebooks

There were also some new-to-me authors whom I’ve tried and wasn’t really impressed with but I’m willing to try the rest of their books because other readers have been so enthusiastic about them. Let’s see if I change my mind about them. These authors are:

Mhairi McFarlane
Stacia Kane
E. Lockhart

What about the rest of you, who are some of your favorite discoveries this year?

11 thoughts on “Top New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

  1. Cruel Beauty seems to be a love-it-or-hate-it book, I’ve seen such mixed reactions! Glad to hear it worked for you. I’m interested to read it so I can see which side I fall on, LOL.

  2. Yay for Dare Island books!

    And I need to try Susanna Kearsley. As for E. Lockhart, I liked the first two books in the Ruby Oliver series a lot. Not all her stuff works for me.

    • Yes, you should try Susanna Kearsley! Would love to hear what you think of her books. I’ve heard good things about the Ruby Oliver books so I want to give them a try even if I didn’t love We Were Liars or The Disreputable History of Frankie.

  3. That Matcha soy milk looks delish! You found some fab new authors this year! I’m fond of Open Road Summer too, but have yet to read a Susanna Kearsley novel. The Ivy series sounds like it’s right up my alley. Hope next year brings more great author discoveries your way.

    • It’s yummy! Starbucks also has a matcha latte and you can request for soy milk for it. Oh that’s great that you also enjoyed Open Road Summer. 🙂 Looking forward to her next novel. I hope you get to read Susanna Kearsley and Sarina Bowen next year. I love talking about their books because they’re such good reads.

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Top Ten Topics | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Top New-To-Me Authors I Read For the First Time In 2015 | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Top New-To-Me Authors I Read For the First Time In 2016 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

