Chachic's Book Nook

Ivy League Series by Diana Peterfreund

5 Comments

Secret Society Girl and seal

Photo taken using Instagram.

I hereby confess, Diana Peterfreund’s Ivy League series is not for me. It pains me to make this confession since this is a new adult series that has been highly recommended by several friends. I wanted to love it as much as they seemed to, but unfortunately, I just couldn’t relate to all the secret society drama. I felt that all the Rose and Grave issues were petty and I wanted the characters to focus on more important things. As a result, I wasn’t invested in the characters as much as I would have liked. When I was reading the first book, I thought Amy’s voice was funny and I was also curious about her love interest but those weren’t enough to sustain my interest. I read the first three books in the series and skimmed the last one just to find out what happened in the end. Even though I didn’t fall in love with the series, I’m glad I finally gave it a try since I’ve been curious about it for a while now. We can’t all like the same books so I would still recommend this to fans of books with a college setting or readers who find secret societies intriguing. Personally, I enjoyed Sarina Bowen’s Ivy Series a lot more.

Reading order for the Ivy League series by Diana Peterfreund:
Secret Society Girl
Under the Rose
Rites of Spring Break
Tap and Gown

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

5 thoughts on “Ivy League Series by Diana Peterfreund

  1. I’m sorry! But I think I understand exactly where you are coming from!!!
    I don’t think this series would be for me either.

  2. I’m sorry it didn’t work for you, Chachic. Hope you didn’t feel like it was a huge waste. I spent the majority of the first book alternately creeped out and enraged at the ridiculousness of the whole secret society thing. But once I got into book two I grew incredibly fond of the whole crew. As you say, we can’t all love the same books.

    • I didn’t feel it was a waste of time because I satisfied my curiosity. 🙂 I’ve been meaning to try reading the series because of all the feedback that it’s received so it’s good that I was able to do so, even if it didn’t really work for me. We can’t really predict how we’ll react to certain books until we’ve read them.

  3. I’m still quite curious about this series! One of my close blogging friends is really passionate about this series, so I do think I’d still give it a shot. I’m sorry it didn’t quite work out for you!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

