Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Places I Want to Visit Because of Books

8 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I really like this week’s topic! I love novels that have a strong sense of place because it feels like I get to travel with the characters when the setting is so vivid. I love traveling and exploring new places but I don’t get to experience it as often as I’d like because I’m not a millionaire. Some of the places that I want to visit because of books I’ve read are:

Greece – I’ve been wanting to visit Greece ever since I fell in love with the Greek mythology stories that I used to read back in high school. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief series is set in a fictional place reminiscent of Greece and because it’s one of my absolute favorite series, it made me want to visit Greece even more. Photo from Megan Whalen Turner’s Tumblr:

MWT - Greece pic from tumblr

Eddis’s secret temple. (The Erechtheion’s other porch.)

France – Laura Florand sure knows how to describe a place well. Her Amour et Chocolat series made me want to visit Paris and I’m very grateful that I was able to do so. I still want to visit Grasse and the surrounding areas (Nice, Cannes) because of her La Vie en Roses series. I would love to visit perfume manufacturers to make my own personalized perfume. And to see lavender and rose fields in person. Photo taken by Laura Florand and shared for Amour et Florand:

Exploring the streets of the towns around Grasse leads here, in Cagnes (Haut de Cagnes), France.

Exploring the streets of the towns around Grasse leads here, in Cagnes (Haut de Cagnes), France.

 

Australia – ALL of the wonderful Aussie YA novels that I’ve read have made me want to visit Australia. I feel like there’s something in their water that enables their authors to write such amazing books. Some of the Aussie books that I’ve loved are written by Melina Marchetta, Fiona Wood, Cath Crowley, Vikki Wakefield, Kirsty Eagar and Andrea K. Host. Video of Melina Marchetta and Kirsty Eagar hanging out in Sydney, shared for Marchetta Madness back in 2012:

 

Prague, Czech Republic – So many friends who have visited Europe keep saying that Prague is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I loved reading about Prague in Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, which had such an atmospheric setting. This reminds me that I’ve yet to read the sequels to that book.

Ireland – Juliet Marillier’s Sevenwaters series is my favorite when it comes to historical fantasy. The books are set in an ancient version of Ireland with the added benefit of having magic. The setting is such an important part of the story and it’s described so well that it makes me want to visit the modern, non-magical version of that world.

New York, USA – In Truly by Ruthie Knox, May hates New York at the start of the novel so it becomes Ben’s mission to show her around the concrete jungle where dreams are made of. I love that Ben tries to convince May to like New York by bringing her to restaurants that serve delectable dishes. I would love to try all the delicious food that was featured in that book! Also, New York always seems like a good idea because of Broadway. Musicals galore!

Russia – I loved how Russia was described in A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson and Enchantment by Orson Scott Card, two of my favorite books. It seems like a country rich in culture and filled with beautiful sights. Plus I have a Russian co-worker who constantly talks about his homeland and everything he says just encourages me to visit the country. Also, I’ve tried Russian food and it’s delicious.

Scotland –  I was born and raised in the Philippines so beaches for me have always meant tropical beaches. So I would be very eager to see a different kind of beach like the one described in The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley: harsh and cold but it has its own beauty. Scotland was also described with fondness in Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, which is another reason why I want to visit the country. Also, EWein lives there! I would love to meet her in person.

World of Harry Potter – It’s not very common for a series that you love to have a theme park dedicated to it. So of course, I would love to visit the Wizarding World of Harry Potter either in Florida or in Japan. I’m super jealous of friends who have been to those places! I’m pretty sure I’ll have a great time if I ever get to visit either of those theme parks and I would probably be tempted to buy a lot of souvenirs.

New Zealand – I would love to visit the sets created for the Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit films. Who wouldn’t want to visit The Shire? I’ve always felt like a hobbit because I’m tiny (I’m five feet flat) and I like having several meals a day.

What about you, what are the places that you’ve read about that you want to visit?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Places I Want to Visit Because of Books

  1. Been to 3 in your list 🙂

    The Harry Potter here in Florida is huge – if you plan to go to both, you’ll need to spend more to get the two-park ticket. The one in Japan is only one park, they don’t have Diagon Alley yet. Plus the cheapest keychain I saw is like $8 without tax. Butterbeer? $5 + tax for a cup please.

    NY is an amazing place to visit – even better to spend New Years in

    Scotland is so bloody green, its just amazing. Rains a lot though, so if you do go, be prepared. It’s cold even if it’s supposed to be summer – what more if you go during winter?

    • Nice, lucky you! Hmm I think even if souvenirs and Butterbeer is expensive, I would be willing to pay for them since I’m already there and it’s going to be a once in a lifetime experience so I might as well make the most of it.

      Oh I’m definitely not planning to go ANYWHERE during wintertime. I’m happy enough with the tropical weather in Manila or Singapore during winter. 😛

  2. Aw, it made me smile to see New York on here from TRULY. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015 | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Top Ten Topics | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

