Games of Command by Linnea Sinclair

I’ve been meaning to try Linnea Sinclair’s books for a while now and I’m glad I was finally able to do so when I picked up Games of Command. There was a time when I felt that sci-fi isn’t really my thing because the worldbuilding tends to be more complicated that what I usually like. But then I loved Silent Blade and Silver Shark by Ilona Andrews and the Touchstone trilogy by Andrea K. Host so I’ve been wanting to explore the genre a bit more. Linnea Sinclair has been recommended by blogging buddies Angie and Janice and I’ve had her books on my TBR pile for ages. I was recently in the mood for sci-fi so I ignored the other three books I was in the middle of, bought the Kindle edition of Games of Command and promptly got sucked in by Linnea Sinclair’s writing.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Games of CommandThe universe isn’t what it used to be. With the new Alliance between the Triad and the United Coalition, Captain Tasha “Sass” Sebastian finds herself serving under her former nemesis, biocybe Admiral Branden Kel-Paten – and doing her best to hide a deadly past. But when an injured mercenary winds up in their ship’s sick bay–and in the hands of her best friend, Dr. Eden Fynn–Sass’s efforts may be wasted.

Wanted rebel Jace Serafino has information that could expose all of Sass’s secrets, tear the fragile Alliance apart – and end Sass’s career if Kel-Paten discovers them. But the biocybe has something to hide as well, something once thought impossible for his kind to possess: feelings… for Sass. Soon it’s clear that their prisoner could bring down everything they once believed was worth dying for – and everything they now have to live for.

I had a lot of fun reading Games of Command and I thought it was a good introduction to Linnea Sinclair’s work. I was so absorbed that I stayed up late to finish it. I have to admit that some of the terms and situations went over my head but I was fine with that, I felt like it didn’t affect my enjoyment of the novel. I think that will always be the case for me whenever I read certain space opera novels. I would rather go with the flow of the book instead of spend too much time trying to figure out the science and the mechanics of that particular book.

Going into this novel, I knew that it was romantic sci-fi so I was looking forward to the romance and I wasn’t disappointed. The book focused on two couples but I liked the main story arc, between Sass and Branden, more than the secondary one. Admiral Kel-Paten is a biocybe, half-human and half-machine, and he’s not supposed to develop romantic feelings. But due to some quirk, he fell in love with Sass even though they’re on opposite sides of a galactic war. When truce comes in the form of an alliance, Branden fights to have Sass by his side as the captain of his flagship. I liked seeing these two interact with each other and I enjoyed seeing the story unfold from their points of view. Branden is highly competent in his work but he’s pretty clueless when it comes to human emotions. It was interesting to see his vulnerability and how he worked to build a relationship with Sass that goes beyond their professional connection. As for Sass, at first she was just concerned with keeping her secret past from Branden but then she grows to respect him during the months they work together. I found the slow burn romance between these two flawed characters sweet. Here’s a snippet that I really liked:

“When she saw the scars, she understood. They weren’t like Zanorian’s thin affectations. These were knotty, full of pain and bad memories. Unpleasant. Best kept hidden.

She understood that too. She had scars. But hers were inside, while his were on the outside.”

Games of Command is filled with action and adventure. I enjoyed the fast pace of the novel and have no complaints regarding the plot and character development. I just wish that it had an extended ending, I felt like the last scene of the book ended a bit abruptly and I wouldn’t have minded seeing more. I liked that Games of Command is a standalone novel and I feel like it’s a good introduction to Linnea Sinclair’s writing. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more from her. Recommended for fans of romantic sci-fi or space opera.

Other reviews:
Angieville
Specfic Romantic

2 thoughts on “Games of Command by Linnea Sinclair

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

