Chachic's Book Nook

Instagram Challenge: #FYAPhotoaday

12 Comments

This month, I’m joining Forever Young Adult’s Photo-a-day challenge on Instagram. I saw that several of the bloggers I follow on Instagram were participating in this so I thought it would be fun to do it too. I’m chachickenpie on Instagram if anyone wants to check out my posts. I have no idea if I’ll be able to keep up with the challenge for the whole month of September but let’s see. I may not be able to post every day since a lot of my books are back home in Manila. And I’ve been reading a lot on my Kindle lately and I have to admit that it’s difficult to take creative pictures of Kindle editions.

Here’s the list for the challenge:

fya_photo-a-day

I like Instagram bookish challenges because I think is fun to browse through book pictures. Do you post book pictures on Instagram? Have you joined any bookish challenges there?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

12 thoughts on “Instagram Challenge: #FYAPhotoaday

  1. Hi Chachic! This looks fun but I agree with you that it’s a challenge to take Kindle photos. I, too, read more on my Kindle than paper books. I’ll be watching out for your posts on IG. I like your Shoot That Book meme so I know I’ll enjoy looking at your photos on this IG challenge as well. 🙂

    • Ideally if I’m taking a picture of my Kindle, I would include another object to make the shot look more interesting or I’d take the picture outdoors so the background will be nicer. I’ve been good so far! I’ve posted on all the 4 days assigned and planning to post another one later. 🙂

      Aww so nice of you to say that you like Shoot That Book. I’ve stopped doing that when I started posting on Instagram more.

  2. You could always make a trip to the bookstore and use their copy for the picture op if you have a Kindle version….or does the physical book have to be yours?

    • Yep, I can still take pictures of my Kindle copies (see my reply to the comment above). Thanks for the bookstore idea, I can do that too. Just that there’s no bookstore branch near the office or the flat. And even if I visit the bookstore, they might not have the books that I want to take pictures of.

  3. Sounds like a great challenge!! I kind of wanna do it now too, but I don’t like to be in pictures 😛

    • I don’t usually post pictures of myself on my Instagram either but I don’t mind doing it from time to time. So far, only the first day asked for a picture that includes you. You can skip days like that if you want. 😛

  4. I didn’t even think that it might be harder since you’re using your kindle more. What’s nice is that you can manipulate the photos before you upload them—ever since I started using instagram, I feel so artsy with the filters lol. Maybe you could use your kindle and have other things next to it that relate to the story? Or you could just take photos of the kindle and accompany them with whatever you’re eating because you always have such yummy food!!!

    • Yes, I’ve always liked Instagram because of the filters. It’s like a digital version of lomo. 😛 Instagram has a lot more features nowadays (with the tools to sharpen, brighten, etc.) – before, they only had the filters.

      That’s what I was thinking, have something next to my Kindle that’s somewhat related to the story. Or just take a picture beside whatever I’m eating or drinking, LOL.

  5. I have zero creativity when it comes to photos LOL 🙂 But this sounds fun! Following you now on Instagram! Btw, I’ve tagged you in The Chocolate Book Tag HERE. ^__^

    • I’m not really a photographer but I would like to think that I take nice photos hahaha. I mostly take pictures using just Instagram or lomo. You should give this challenge a try and see if it’s something that you’d enjoying doing. 🙂

      Thanks for the heads up on the tag, I’ll check it out!

  6. Instagram’s become my favorite social media outlet since I got a smart phone! It’s like all the fun, none of the crap, ya know? Really enjoying looking at everyone’s photos for this challenge, and I’ve made some new friends because of it!

    • Instagram is awesome, isn’t it? None of the crap that Facebook has, which is funny since they own Instagram. I think a big factor of that is I’ve become choosy on who I follow on Instagram (like I don’t follow people I know in real life if I see that all they post are selfies). I’m enjoying looking at pictures, liking and commenting for this FYA challenge.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

