August 2014 Recap

Extraordinary Child by Lim Xiufen Silver

Extraordinary Child by Lim Xiufen Silver in the Singapore Art Museum

September is here! Once the ber months have started, that means that Christmas is just around the corner. I still haven’t booked my flight to Manila in December, I really should do that soon since prices are steadily going up. Anyway, here’s a list of the books I’ve read in August:

Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews – Review can be found here.

Fiancee for Hire by Tawna Fenske – I read this based on Mina V. Esguerra’s recommendation since I’m always on the lookout for fun contemporary romance books. However, I was disappointed because I didn’t enjoy this as much as I was expecting. I didn’t think it was as good as other romance novels that I’ve read.

One Night of Sin by Elle Kennedy – Quick, fun and smexy read. There are two more books in this series and I look forward to reading them.

(Reread) Fire by Kristin Cashore – Review can be found here. Still can’t believe that I’ve never reviewed this earlier!

Isla and the Happily Ever After plus Paris postcard

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins – Review can be found here. I bet a lot of book bloggers read this one in August!

Firelight and Moonglow by Kristen Callihan – I believe I saw Laura Florand recommending this author on Twitter and the premise for this historical paranormal romance looked intriguing so I gave it a try. Firelight is also a Beauty and the Beast retelling and I’m a sucker for those. Overall, I thought these books were just okay. Not bad but not great either. Not sure if I’ll continue reading the rest of the series, I started the third book but couldn’t really get into it.

Another author that has been recommended by Laura Florand and book blogging buddy Li is Kelly Hunter. I’ve been glomming through her backlist the past couple of days and have finished the following titles:

The Man She Loves to Hate
Wife for a Week
Bedded for Diamonds
The Maverick’s Greek Island Mistress

I have mini reviews on Goodreads for these Kelly Hunter books and I’ll try to consolidate all of them into one blog post later on.

That’s it for my August reading month. In summary, I would say that the highlights of the month for me were Magic Breaks, Isla, Fire and discovering Kelly Hunter. How about the rest of you, how was August as a reading month for you?

Recap of previous months:
January
February
March
May
June
July

10 thoughts on “August 2014 Recap

    • Both Firelight and Moonglow could have been good but were just okay. I gave both 3 stars in Goodreads but it’s more like 2.5 stars for me. Haha when I started the third book, I was thinking “why am I reading this again?”

      Yes, please give her a try! I really liked Wife for a Week and The Man She Loves to Hate. I’m a bit romanced out at the moment so I’ve put her on hold. Also, I’ve finally gotten to her book set in Singapore and I couldn’t get over some of the inaccuracies.

  1. Any month that includes new Ilona Andrews and Stephanie Perkins books, plus Kristin Cashore and Kelly Hunter reads has to be a good reading month!

    I’ve been seeing Kristen Callihan’s books a lot around the book blogs recently, but haven’t yet tried her.

    Li

    • Oh yes, it was a good reading month because of all those authors you mentioned. Hopefully September will be good as well! I still have some books in my TBR pile that I’m excited about.

      I hope you’ll end up liking Kristen Callihan’s books more than I did, if you ever get to try them.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

