Chachic's Book Nook

Sola Musica: As Heard on TV by Marla Miniano

Leave a comment

Today is SOLA MUSICA‘s release day! Go and grab a copy.  My copy has already been downloaded in my Kindle.

A beach cove, a hot summer weekend… SOLA MUSICA is where everyone’s going, to enjoy the best new music from all over. Bestselling Filipino YA/chick lit authors Mina V. Esguerra, Marla Miniano, Chinggay Labrador, and Ines Bautista-Yao each tell a story about this festival: the music, the people, the hearts that will soar (or break).

Sola Musica

BREAK by Marla Miniano
Natalie is about to watch her favorite band in the world, with a guy she’s crazy about — if only she can get through forced family bonding with her grandmother, her little brother, and her grandmother’s boyfriend.

Author links:
@marlamini
marlaminiano.blogspot.com

_________________________

As Heard on TV by Marla Miniano
I believe in the right song at the right time.

Sola Musica was brought to life because Ines, Mina, Chinggay, and I all understand and acknowledge the power of music: it can summon and create memories, fuel joy, foster relationships, and either exacerbate or soothe heartache. It can also make pivotal moments in your favorite TV shows absolutely perfect. Here’s a quick list of my favorite songs in TV soundtrack history.

1. “With or Without You” by U2 on FRIENDS

At several pathetically heartbroken points in my early twenties, I sat on the floor and stared out the window at the vast night landscape while blasting this song on my computer. This is mostly because a lot of my romantic decisions back then were greatly influenced by Rachel Green—a fact that I am both thrilled with and embarrassed of. I love how this song resurfaced the following season, when Ross cheated on Rachel at an office party. I know, I know though: they were on a break.

2. “Dice” by Finley Quaye and William Orbit on The O.C.

It’s New Year’s Eve, and Ryan needs to kiss Marissa before the clock strikes twelve, because that’s how it works when you’re a nobody from Chino trying to get with the popular blonde girl strategically sighing into her champagne. There are no functioning elevators in the building, of course, but Ryan bursts into the room just as everyone shouts “3, 2, 1,” and there is confetti and a belated declaration of love and glorious making out. Cut. I watched The O.C. religiously in college, and although I’ve always been more attracted to the Seths of the world, Ryan’s mad dash to midnight inevitably became my (slightly misguided) benchmark for grand gestures.

3. “Dancing on My Own” by Robyn on Girls

Holy Horvath, this scene… where do I even start? It’s funny and tender and sweet and a little bit sad and ridiculously, painfully real. None of the characters, with their less than stellar EQs and erratic bouts of self-awareness, can seriously be considered great defining forces in my journey to adulthood — not at this point, anyway. But I do grasp the intricacies and complexities of friendship the show illustrates so well: how platonic relationships are supposed to get easier as you grow up, but rarely do. In the end we are all “adventurous women,” and if a dance break is what you need to survive, then go ahead, grab a partner, and press play.

_________________________

Salamat, Marla! Love the topic that you chose. I also get hooked to certain songs because of how they accompany scenes in the TV shows that I enjoy watching.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

