Chachic's Book Nook

Sola Musica: Beach Trips I Love by Chinggay Labrador

2 Comments

SOLA MUSICA will be released on August 28. To celebrate, I’m hosting guest posts from the authors throughout this week.

A beach cove, a hot summer weekend… SOLA MUSICA is where everyone’s going, to enjoy the best new music from all over. Bestselling Filipino YA/chick lit authors Mina V. Esguerra, Marla Miniano, Chinggay Labrador, and Ines Bautista-Yao each tell a story about this festival: the music, the people, the hearts that will soar (or break).

Sola Musica

SPECTATORS by Chinggay Labrador

Jack is the go-to behind-the-scenes guy for electronica group, Box Trap, and finds himself inexplicably drawn to the lead singer he’s tasked to work with.

Author links:
@superrrfudge
_________________________

Beach Trips I Love by Chinggay Labrador

I used to be the biggest anti-beach person. I didn’t like getting sand on my legs, the sun beating down on me, and the fish freaked me out. A couple of years ago, I decided to turn things around, one beach trip at a time. It’s taken me on tons of incredible adventures, trying out surfing and snorkeling, and has also gotten my skin about five shades darker (haha!).

All the beaches I’ve visited came in handy when Mina, Ines, Marla and I came together to work on Sola Musica. While we agreed to set it in an imaginary cove in Anilao, I definitely pulled inspiration from my favorite places. Happiness does come in salty water!

salty water

Anvaya Cove

This is my go-to spot when I want a quick escape from the chaos of Manila. I love coming here on quiet weekdays, laying out on the sand, taking a dip in the pool, playing pingpong, riding golf carts around the casitas, and just chilling with friends and family. This beach, though small and private helped me situate Sola Musica’s wide and expansive Pebble Cove in my imagination.

anvaya

La Union

Since taking a shot at surfing, I’ve been to the popular wave-ridden beaches of La Union for a FLOW Boho surf yoga samba retreat, and a Roxy surf camp. I love staying at Flotsam & Jetsam for its casual vibe, delicious pizza, creative drinks, and all the colors that encapsulate the free spirit of surf. Plus, there’s no resisting this gorgeous sunset.

la union

El Nido

Nothing has been quite as breathtaking to me as the limestone cliffs and crystal blue waters of El Nido. I went on vacation with a huge bunch of friends to this island and was floored by all the scenery. One of the charms that the place had was its town—walking through the small streets, riding large tricycles and taking the jeep. This definitely inspired the treks that Jack would take between the water and his hotel in the book.

el nido

Anilao

I kicked off the start of 2014 with a day trip to a small island in Anilao. This was a groundbreaking trip for me because it was my very first time snorkeling—a huge deal because of my consistent fear of fish swimming all around me. It was great that I’d actually been to the place where we were setting our story in (although I’d be hard pressed to find a musical festival on this tiny island!).

anilao

Honolulu

I’m proud to say that I surfed my first real wave in Hawaii! Granted, I only stood up twice and was terrified of the urchins underneath my feet, but it was a proud moment for me. If not for the friends I made in this popular hotspot, I don’t think I’d ever find the guts to go for it.

hawaii

Byron Bay

I went on a life-changing trip to Australia last year and met a group of amazing people. Every beach story in my mind, I dedicate to this group of like-minded good-hearted people, especially to Justin (seated at the center) who passed away a few months after.

australia

Bali and Lombok

This was my last beach adventure, with the super fun girls of FLOW Surf Yoga Samba. It was such an adventure to walk and hike to beaches day after day, seeing the huge waves and meeting tons of people. Indonesia definitely has something different to offer beachcombers, but the trip also made me thankful that I live in a place where the best beaches are just a short ride or flight away from home.

bali

_________________________

Salamat, Chinggay! Your post makes me want to go the beach. I haven’t gone on a beach vacation in ages.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

2 thoughts on “Sola Musica: Beach Trips I Love by Chinggay Labrador

  1. Omgosh, now I just want to book flights to all of these amazing places! What awesome photos, and an excellent guest post! 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

