Retro Friday: Fire by Kristin Cashore

Retro Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Angie over at Angieville and focuses on reviewing books from the past. This can be an old favorite, an under-the-radar book you think deserves more attention, something woefully out of print, etc.

I read both Graceling and Fire by Kristin Cashore when they first came out. That was a few years ago, back when I didn’t have a book blog. I recently reread them for a discussion with my online book club YAckers. I loved rereading both and realized that I have never written a review for Fire. It’s a good thing I refreshed my memory by rereading it recently because that gave me the perfect opportunity to talk about one of my absolute favorite epic fantasy novels.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

FireIt is not a peaceful time in the Dells. The young King Nash clings to his throne while rebel lords in the north and south build armies to unseat him. The mountains and forests are filled with spies and thieves and lawless men.

This is where Fire lives. With a wild, irresistible appearance and hair the color of flame, Fire is the last remaining human monster. Equally hated and adored, she has the unique ability to control minds, but she guards her power, unwilling to steal the secrets of innocent people. Especially when she has so many of her own.

Then Prince Brigan comes to bring her to King City, the royal family needs her help to uncover the plot against the king. Far away from home, Fire begins to realize there’s more to her power than she ever dreamed. Her power could save the kingdom.

If only she weren’t afraid of becoming the monster her father was.

Fire is such an achingly beautiful novel. It is wonderfully written with engaging characters, set in a dazzlingly colorful world. Fire is a human monster, an amazingly beautiful person who can read minds and manipulate people through her powers – either with just the way she looks or by compelling them to say or do things. Having seen what her cruel father Cansrel was able to do with his own monstrous powers, Fire is very cautious with hers. She has no intention of manipulating people and doesn’t even want to be involved in court politics. But the kingdom is on the brink of civil war and Fire has a role to play in all of this.

I loved Fire’s character. It was a pleasure to see her stretch as she opens herself up to possibilities. It’s understandable that she’s afraid of what she’s capable of but she has such a good heart that she doesn’t really have to worry about it. Aside from Fire, there are also plenty of fully fleshed out secondary characters to love in this novel. Can I just take a moment to say how much I love Brigan? Remarkable character and brilliant in so many different ways. I loved how Kristin Cashore portrayed the relationships in this book – they’re very messy and complicated but work so well in the context of the story. I liked seeing the dynamics of different types of relationships – romantic, platonic and within families – in the story. There’s a lot of love in there but also has some sadness and violence mixed in. Here’s a snippet that illustrates this:

“She had thought she’d already reached her capacity for pain and had no room inside her for more. But she remembered having told Archer once that you could not measure love on a scale of degrees, and now she understood that it was the same with pain. Pain might escalate upwards, and, just when you’d thought you’d reached your limit, begin to spread sideways, and spill out, and touch other people, and mix with their pain. And grow larger, but somehow less oppressive. She had thought herself trapped in a place outside the ordinary feeling lives of other people; she had not noticed how many other people were trapped in that place with her.”

Fire just has everything that I look for in my epic fantasy reads. Great characters, solid worldbuilding, a slow burn romance that I can root for and complex relationships that feel realistic. I cannot recommend it enough. It makes me happy that Fire stood up to a reread and I loved it just as much as when I was first introduced to it. In fact, I had to wait a couple of days for the story to fade from my mind before I could move on to another book. After rereading both Graceling and Fire, I am now craving for a new Kristin Cashore novel. I will be eagerly waiting for news about what she will publish next.

9 thoughts on “Retro Friday: Fire by Kristin Cashore

  1. The third novel in the series, Bitterblue, came out a few years ago. Have you read that? It follows Graceling and Fire, but it’s about another character (a minor player in Graceling, I think – it’s been a while since I read the books!) It wasn’t my favourite – I really liked Graceling and Fire, too, but it’s worth checking out if you like Cashore’s writing and you’re waiting for a new book. I really enjoyed your review – thanks for the memories!

    • Hi SJ, oh yes, I’ve read Bitterblue. The moment it first came out. But like you, I didn’t love it as much as Graceling and Fire. Thanks for dropping by to comment!

  2. I think that I’ve got to reread Graceling and Fire, and FINALLY read Bitterblue. Like you, I read both books before I started blogging! I remember that, while I liked Fire, I absolutely LOVED Graceling. However, your thoughts are making me think I want to read it again and see for myself what I think now!

    • You should totally reread them. I’m so glad I got to do it because I rarely get to reread old favorites. There are always way too many books in the TBR pile so I keep wanting to read new-to-me books instead. I loved both Graceling and Fire but if I had to choose, I might love Fire just a little bit more. Sadly, I didn’t love Bitterblue as much as the first two.

  3. I loved this whole series. Bitterblue was my favorite, but Fire was a close second. I loved Fire’s ethical conundrum about whether it was morally worse to use her powers for good or not to use them at all.

    • I think my favorite is probably Fire, with Graceling as a very close second. Yes, I love Fire’s dilemma about using her powers. She was afraid of following her father’s footsteps.

  4. Pingback: August 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Book Meme | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Weekend Trip: Club Med Bintan Island | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

