One Less Lonely Person

blogging August 15 2014

The other day, my friends and I were talking about how it’s very difficult to adjust to living in another country, away from family and friends. Most Filipinos have very strong ties to family and friends so when we do move abroad to explore better job opportunities, more often than not, we get lonely and homesick. At least it’s easier to keep in touch because of messaging and calling apps nowadays. But we also talked about how important it is to have hobbies to keep ourselves busy. Of course, I brought up reading and blogging. My friends said it’s good that I’m able to do something that I love and I absolutely agree. I would be pretty lonely if I didn’t have reading and blogging to keep me busy.

In a blog post three years ago, I discussed how much reading is a part of my life so I won’t expand on that. I have also talked about how I love the book blogging community, how I think people are so warm and friendly and I feel like I’ve made some good friends over the years. I don’t mind talking about it again though. It may not seem obvious at this point in time because I’m not blogging as often as I want to and I don’t get as many comments as before but I still feel like reading and blogging are a big part of my life. It’s more than a hobby, in terms of how much thought, time and effort I put into it. It’s more like a lifestyle because I’m in constant conversation (through comments, Twitter, emails or even messaging apps) with blog friends about books. It’s not even as lucrative as other forms of blogging, like fashion or food where other bloggers can get sponsors through ads, but we keep doing it out of love for the written word.

Sometimes, my enthusiasm (or frustration) spills over to real life and I influence my friends to read the books that I love (or stay away from the ones I didn’t think were any good). I also have several friends who ask me for recommendations for themselves or for other people when they need ideas for giving books as gifts. My mom doesn’t really read my blog but it’s funny how she tells her friends that I’m a book blogger. There was also one time when I was telling her that I spend so much money buying books and she said that’s not really a bad thing, it’s better to spend money on books rather than harmful addictions.

I have to be honest and say that I really had a hard time adjusting to living in Singapore when I first moved two years ago. Actually, there are times when I feel like I’m working in Singapore but still living in Manila just because the latter is still home. But I’m very thankful with how reading and blogging has helped me. Reading affects my mood and I’m a lot happier when I just finished an amazing book. Same thing goes when something positive happens that is blog-related, like when I get a response from an author or when I win a giveaway. When I’ve had a bad day or when I’m worrying about something, I’ve said it before and I will keep saying it, I want to keep my blog a happy place. This is why I try to stay away from blog drama whenever possible. I’m an outgoing person but I also enjoy having alone time and I like how reading and blogging lets me do both. I can read by myself and then engage other readers in discussions whenever I feel like it. I can do that whenever and wherever I want to. Both are hobbies that have flexibility in that sense.

I just wanted to share these thoughts and also to thank everyone who has been part of my reading and blogging life so far. Maraming salamat!

13 thoughts on “One Less Lonely Person

  1. I hope some day you can come to Kidlitcon! I’d love to meet you in real life. And I can’t imagine ever giving blogging up–like you say, it becomes a lifestyle!

    • I hope so too, Charlotte! I would love to attend a book/blog-related event that would let me meet blog friends in person. I know I will always be a reader for the rest of my life but I also hope I can keep up with being a blogger for a long while.

  2. That’s true, I never thought of blogging as a lifestyle and it really is one. I think about how my blog has impacted my life and it has done so in countless ways. Anyway, this is a beautiful post 🙂

    • Aww thanks, Sandy. Glad you liked it. I think most people think of blogging as a hobby but it really is so much more. I think only fellow book bloggers would understand this since we all have a better idea of what goes into blogging than non-bloggers.

  3. I’ve been thinking a lot about how much I appreciate having the blogging community, and reading. They’ve become a part of my regular routine, and I can’t imagine my life without either! It’s been wonderful to make friends through this crazy little blogging thing. Plus, it’s given me opportunities I never thought I’d have! It’s a really great thing, and I really agree with your post today.

    • We wouldn’t have met each other if not for blogging! Even though we went to the same college. In general, I think there are more opportunities for bloggers based in the US because there are more events over there. But I’m still thankful that I’m a part of the book blogosphere even if I don’t get to attend that many book events.

  4. Pingback: Books are my constant | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Filipino Friday: Five Ways Reading Has Changed My Life | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Ten Bookworm Delights | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

