Top Ten Blogging Confessions

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. I thought this week’s topic is such a fun one. I’m not sure if the things I’ve listed here can all be considered confessions or if they’re just random facts about me. In any case, I had fun coming up with this list and would be interested to know if any of you share my sentiments in any of these things.

1. I have ARC envy from time to time. I can’t help it, it’s hard to wait for books that you want to read right away. So when I see other bloggers sharing pictures or tweets of books that I’m dying to read, I get jealous. Then I have to remind myself that I have so many good books waiting to be read from my own stash.

2. I also get jealous of all the author and book-related events or conferences that are held in other countries. Even Manila has started getting more author events organized by major bookstores (e.g. Stephanie Perkins in the Philippines). If Megan Whalen Turner or Elizabeth Wein or Melina Marchetta ever have a Manila event, I’m definitely booking a flight to see them. Sigh, I can’t even remember the last time I attended a book event.

3. I want a new Kindle. My trusty Kindle Touch is just about to turn 2 years old and it’s still working fine so it wouldn’t be very practical to get a new one. I love that I’ve brought my Kindle with me on my travels (it’s been to Manila, Singapore, Los Angeles, Paris, Barcelona, Aix-en-Provence and Milan) but I really want a Kindle Paperwhite. Mostly for the convenience of having a lighted device.

A shot of my Kindle on the train on the way to Milan. I was reading Thorn by Intisar Khanani

A shot of my Kindle on the train on the way to Milan. I was reading Thorn by Intisar Khanani

4. I tend to ignore the paperbacks and hardcovers in my TBR pile. I’ve become really bad at reading the physical books that I have just because my Kindle is so easy to carry around in my purse. But I still enjoy buying and receiving physical books and I like the comfort of having a bookshelf full of books so now I have quite a number of unread titles. I really should make more of an effort to read these paperbacks and hardcovers, maybe alternate them with ebooks.

5. I measure the prices of things based on books. For example, if I’m considering buying something – let’s say a pretty necklace or a cute dress – and it’s more expensive that what I would usually spend on a thing like that, I would think to myself, “This is expensive, I could buy *insert number of books here* with this price.”

6. Whenever I buy a purse or handbag, I have to check and make sure that at least my Kindle or one book will be able to fit into it. Even if I don’t really get a chance to read during the day, I just feel more comfortable having a book with me.

7. My mood is affected by what I read in the sense that I’m in a good mood when I’m in the middle of (or just finished) a really good book. I also feel a bit lost when I’m not reading anything or if I’m not really enjoying what I’m reading.

8. I used to unfollow people on Twitter but now just use the mute button. I check my Twitter and Instagram feeds on a daily basis so I unfollow or mute people for several reasons: I may find their tweets or posts annoying or I’ve replied to their tweets but they’ve never responded – I mean I get when famous authors don’t respond but for fellow bloggers? I just feel like it’s not a good thing when I’m not able to have a conversation with that person.

9. I feel like I already spend a significant chunk of time on my blogging and yet it’s never enough. I spend a lot of my spare time on reading and blogging because they are my main hobbies. But even though I do that, I’m still behind on blogging in the sense that I don’t get to review all of the books that I read and I don’t get to post as often as I would like. Back when I had more time in my hands, I would also read and comment on all of the posts of the bloggers I follow but nowadays, I’m not able to do that anymore.

10. I don’t think I’ve ever really talked about what got me to start a book blog. Prior to starting my own book blog, I had a personal blog and was a lurker in LiveJournal communities. My friends kept telling me that I should review books because I enjoy reading so much, and I just kept saying that I’m a reader and not a writer. I was in awe of some of the book blogs that I discovered and felt that I wouldn’t be able to come up with something similar. But then I also started seeing other book blogs that were poorly maintained and realized that I could do better (I’m sorry if that sounds mean!) and that pushed me to start my own blog.

39 thoughts on “Top Ten Blogging Confessions

  1. I totally do number 5 too! And 6! I get fidgety if I have to sit for too long without something in my hands.
    I feel you with number 2:( If I ever want to go to a big event, it’s gonna be days of travel and lots of money.

    • I feel a bit lost when I don’t have a book or my Kindle in my purse, like I don’t know what I’ll do with myself. I would love to attend book conferences in the US but I know that’s not really an option (even though I have a visa) because of the expense. If I employ number 5’s tactic, I could buy a whole (mini) library with the price of a US trip. 😛

  2. I didn’t even know it was possible to mute someone on Twitter. Cue me feeling like a ninety year old tech newbie:) That’s a cute story of how you got into blogging! Even as someone who lives in a city with tons of author events, I totally get jealous when I see an author I love doing an event in another place. *sigh*

    • Flann! So nice to hear from you. How have you been? To mute someone on Twitter, go to the person’s profile and click the gear button. It’s one of the options there. I’m glad you don’t think I was being mean when I was pushed to blog because I thought I could do better than other bloggers out there. Haha yes, you already get to attend so many author events. But it’s good to know that you still get jealous of author events in other cities or states.

    • Same. I love being a book blogger and I always think about blog-related things but there’s always not enough time to sit down and do everything that I want. Like right now, it’s almost midnight and I’m super sleepy (because of staying up until 2:30 am to finish a book last night) but I’m still replying to blog comments because I want to show that I’m grateful for these comments.

  3. #9 is me all the way. I have a full-time job and I try to maintain a social life too – and I spend a LOT of time reading, setting up posts and thinking about books. That said, it never feels like enough, and I often wonder if I’ll ever get to all of the items on my ‘to do’ list!

    • Yes, exactly! I have a full-time job and a social life too. I like hanging out with my friends just as much as I enjoy reading and blogging. But yes, I really feel like a huge bulk of my time is spent on reading and blogging or thinking about things that I want to do on my blog. I think we all just have to learn to let go and accept that we can’t do ALL THE THINGS.

  4. 5-7 are all me too

    AND 8!!! YES! I get authors not responding but man are there some SNOOTY book bloggers out there. Seriously we all love books and wan to talk about them. Find time to answer if you can.

    • I should have also said something about how I need a good book to change my mood when I’m stressed or if there’s something bothering me.

      I don’t auto-follow people on Twitter but I reply to most (if not all) of the mentions that I get. You’re absolutely right, we all love books and want to chat about them. I want to say to the snooty ones, “who do you think you are?” Haha.

  5. I feel the same way…no matter all the time I put into it it’s never enough. And I know I already put way too much time into all this. There’s always something I could do to make it better, to better engage with people, etc. etc. It’s hard to balance for me. I don’t want it to overtake my life but I take pride in what I do with my blog so it’s hard. SIGH.

    • Jamie, you’re a much more active blogger than I am! I think most of us will agree with feeling like we never have enough time for blogging. There’s always a post waiting to be written or comments waiting for replies or other tasks that need to be done. Sigh, if only we have more time for reading and blogging!

    • How long has your first Kindle been with you? I’m already on my second Kindle which is a Kindle Touch. My first was a Kindle keyboard and the screen gave up on me after two years. Dead pixels started appearing.

  6. #4-6, it’s like you read my mind!!

    I’ve come to the conclusion that, like teaching, there are never enough hours in the day to get to what you want with blogging. And that’s ok. It just means that you have a life to live! And if you really want to get to something, you’ll buckle down and get to it in the end. No rush, no fuss 🙂

    As for ARC envy, I think I can safely say that I no longer feel it whenever I see shiny new arcs floating around in the blogosphere. I am content with knowing that I’ll have to wait to get it once its release date rolls around because by then, I will be purchasing it in its finished and intended form ^_^ It took me forever to get to this “lalalala whatever” point but I’m happy to report that I’m there, lol.

    • Yay, I’m glad you agree on some of the points that I raised here. It’s always good to know that you’re not alone in how you feel about certain things.

      Teaching is also a round the clock job, I think. Very difficult to manage your time as a teacher. Yes, I agree that we all have lives outside of blogging which makes it okay if we’re not able to keep up with everything. And yes, if it’s really important, then we would eventually find the time to do it. 🙂

      You’re very zen when it comes to ARCs. I hope I can get to that point someday! To be honest, I’m better at it that I used to be because I accepted the fact that as an international blogger, it really is more difficult to get review copies. It’s only for books that I want to read RIGHT NOW (e.g. Ilona Andrews’ latest novels) that I get jealous of other bloggers who have those ARCs.

      • Teaching IS a round the clock job. I was only a student teacher but omigoodness, all my waking thoughts and time went towards the classroom. Mhm, it’s good to be passionate about blogging but it’s also important to have a life irl lol.

        Haha, I like that. Being zen about arcs ^_^ I realized I was chill about it once I saw arcs of ISLA AND THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER floating around and instead of getting that twinge of jealousy, I felt nothing. NOTHING. I was like, I’m free from the green monster!!!!!! *tap dances* I know in your case it’s harder to get review copies due to distance but that’s where e-copies happily come in.

        I still need to try Ilona Andrews. I have the first book from the Kate Daniels series sitting on my shelf<3

      • I was a student teacher for one summer session back in college, I tought sixth grade math. That’s when I realized that I don’t think I can be a full-time teacher haha.

        The first few times that I saw Isla ARCs, I kept leaving comments about how jealous I am that they get to read it early but then now I’ve gotten used to seeing it around. And I’m excited about other books in my TBR pile so it’s not an issue that I have to wait for it. Yes, I love galleys! I don’t think I’ll ever receive review copies if not for galleys. 🙂

        Oh you should definitely read Ilona Andrews! I love their writing. With the Kate Daniels series, it took until the third book for me to fall in love with the series but I haven’t looked back since then.

  7. (3) I have an iPad and use the Kindle app on there for reading, but a part of me still wants to own a Kindle Paperwhite. I don’t know if that makes me an awful, greedy person or just a really obsessed book reader.

    (5) Oh, totally me too! I think about coffee versus buying a book mostly, which is definitely a battle of “which one do I require more” for me.

    (6) This is SO. ME. It makes me set a bag down when I know I can’t fit a book into it.

    (8) Confession: I occasionally go through moments where I unfollow people.

    Thanks for being so honest in your confessions!

    • Haha I’m glad I’m not the only one who wants a Kindle Paperwhite! That’s interesting that you read on your iPad, I don’t think I can read for extended periods of time on an LCD screen because it causes eyes strain. I feel like I already spend enough time staring into a computer screen at work and when I blog.

      It’s a good thing I don’t drink coffee every single day because otherwise, I think I would have the same problem as you. Especially since Western coffee (as opposed to local coffee which I can’t take because it’s too acidic for me) is so expensive here in Singapore.

      I think my 4 and 6 are somewhat connected since there was a time when I had a smaller purse that couldn’t hold paperbacks or hardcovers, only my Kindle could fit inside.

      All right then, I’m not the only one who unfollows people. And based on comments, looks like some people are interested in the mute button. 🙂

  8. #1 — never. I have way too many books to read already.

    #2 — shucks, I’m jealous of the conferences held in *this* country. I hardly ever go, but I wish I could.

    #3 — I love my kindle with the keyboard, but I do wish it had Paperwhite lighting.

    #4 — when my physical shelves actually overflow onto the floor, I quit with the kindle and read physical books till I get that under control.

    #5 — I once saw a pig at a state fair sell for $12000. For years afterwards, I calculated prices of things in pigs. “Gosh, you could buy half a pig for that!”

    #6 — absolutely. What else is a handbag for?

    #7 — my years of reading books I don’t like are SO OVER.

    #8 — there’s a mute button on Twitter? There are a couple of people I should use it on. Authors who never tweet anything except “buy my book” tweets, mostly.

    #9 — I will never be caught up on anything, but I’m fine with that.

    #10 — that doesn’t sound mean! I wrote my first book because I thought I could do write better books than some of the ones I was reading.

    • Wow, you replied to all points! Thanks for that. Why don’t you get to attend more conferences there?

      Haha all of us want the Paperwhite! I hope they come out with a newer (and cheaper) version of it.

      That’s a good policy but I don’t think I’ve gotten to the point where my books overflow onto the floor. It has gotten to a point where I had to buy a bookshelf from Ikea, which is saying something given that I moved to Singapore with just a 30kg suitcase two years ago.

      LOL that pig story is hilarious. I don’t think I’ve ever done it with anything other than books.

      As for the mute button, go to the person’s Twitter profile and then click the gear button. The mute option will be included there.

      Yeah, I think you’re not the only author who started writing books because you felt like you could do better than what’s already out there. I’m probably not the only blogger who started a blog because I felt like I could do better than other blogs.

      • Oh, I COULD attend more conventions and things. But I hit a lot of dog shows already, which takes up a good many weekends — and I don’t really like traveling anyway — and, alas, it’s getting more and more physically uncomfortable to drive long distances. I think the “What the heck, I could do better than this, let’s give it a whirl” is pretty common in lots of areas.

      • Ahh you go to dog shows that take up a lot of weekend time. Yeah, driving long distances is never really a comfortable thing. I guess it’s only fun when you make the trip with friends and plan it well – with stopovers and everything. To be honest, I’m not a fan of the “getting there” part of traveling like flying and driving, etc. But I love visiting new-to-me places.

  9. This was a fun post to read! I hate when people don’t respond to my comments on Twitter…it just seems rude! I never feel like I can keep up with blogging either. There is never enough to time to write all the posts that I want to or comment/visit on all of the blogs I want to. I just try to do the best that I can 🙂

    • I can understand when someone on Twitter doesn’t reply because he or she is very popular and gets hundreds of mentions per day. But if it’s a fellow blogger and I’ve tried engaging him or her several times with no response, then I just lose interest. I think we all just try to do what we can when it comes to the time we spend on blogging.

  10. Hi, Chachic! I again travelled 6 hours just to attend the Stephanie Perkins’ book signing event (my 2nd time to do so) with Celina and just letting you know – – – you were in our thoughts the whole time. Miss you!

    • Maricar, I was jealous of all the updates on Twitter about Stephanie Perkins’ event in Manila. Hope you and Celina had a great time at the signing. 🙂

  11. Totally relatable confessions! I also have muted people on twitter (temporarily – when they are live tweeting a show or something, then I unmute) – it is a useful function. I am with Sandy – I don’t have ARC envy. Actually my confession is I feel super guilty at how my blog has suffered in the last year. I feel like my job has taken over the “all-I-can-think-about” space that blogging and reading used to live in. I miss having the “me” time and it’s hard not to feel like: “I’M SO BEHIND” when I think of the blog.

    • The mute option in Twitter is indeed very useful. I know I will eventually get to the point where I won’t have any ARC envy but it’s difficult not to be jealous when I see other bloggers talking about the books that I want to read.

      Aww don’t feel guilty about how you haven’t had time to blog in the last year. We all understand how real life can get in the way of things. I feel like I haven’t been blogging as much since I moved to Singapore but I’ve learned to be okay with that. Nowadays, I’m fine with putting up just one post a week or not even bothering with that if I feel like I don’t have the time for it. I hope you find a way to balance reading/blogging with work but don’t pressure yourself.

      • Well I think I’d have more ARC envy if I actually was reading more! 🙂 I think if I wasn’t behind on certain series (Toby Daye, GASP), I would be so envious of bloggers with ARCs of those. But since I’m behind and not as aware of other books I should be looking forward to, it makes it easier. Ignorance is bliss yo.

        You speak wise words… they actually do make me feel a wee bit better about my lack of posting. I hope I figure it out too.

  12. Love this post of yours. I could feel the sincerity and honesty of this one. I do enjoy reading your posts and checking your IG posts too. I rarely leave comments on posts but I do admire bloggers for sharing their insights about something like books and stuff , and also for sharing bits and pieces about their lives too. I do wish you well and all the happiness this world can offer 🙂

    • ella, thanks for delurking to leave a comment on my blog! 🙂 I appreciate that you read my blog posts and even check out my Instagram updates. I hope you’re able to discover some books that you’ll enjoy reading through my posts.

  13. Pingback: My Favorite Top Ten Topics | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

