The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner’s Curse came to my attention when my good friend Nomes mentioned that it’s one of her favorite reads for this year. For some reason, this title flew under my radar when it first came out. I think the cover doesn’t really represent the story very well and might be one of the reasons why I wasn’t initially curious about The Winner’s Curse. I tried reading a couple of chapters just to see if it’s something that I would be interested in and I was fully absorbed. I was surprised at how easy it was to get into the story.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

The Winner's CurseAs a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him — with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

The Winner’s Curse is set in a make-believe world but has no magic or mythical creatures in it so it has more of a historical fantasy feel to it. Kestrel is the daughter of a well-known general, which is a pretty big deal since their society holds the military and warfare in high regard. The Valorian empire is already huge and yet it still continues to extend its reach and enslave the nations it conquers. The story is set several years after the Valorians have conquered the Herrani people. While Kestrel loves her people and she knows that slavery is part of their culture and their way of life, she doesn’t really approve of it. When she unexpectedly buys a slave at an auction, she has no idea what to with him. But she recognizes Arin’s strength of spirit and admires that. A friendship slowly develops between the two of them. Kestrel is bound by the constraints of the Valorian society – she only has two choices when she comes of age: to join the military or to get married, neither of which are very appealing to her. She’s not a good soldier even if she keeps training and she’s not interested enough in any guy to marry him. She’s great at military strategy, which is why her father keeps pushing her to enlist, but she’s not passionate about that kind of thing. What she loves is music, something which Valorians believe shouldn’t be taken seriously. A snippet to show how Kestrel feels when she plays the piano:

“Music made her feel as if she were holding a lamp that cast a halo of light around her, and while she knew there were people and responsibilities in the darkness beyond it, she couldn’t see them. The flame of what she felt when she played made her deliciously blind.”

I wish I felt that strongly about music but I don’t have the skill or talent for it. Instead, I will liken Kestrel’s passion to how I sometimes feel when I read – entirely focused in the world created by the author, paying no attention to other tasks that need to be done. Which is exactly what happened while I was reading The Winner’s Curse. To be honest, I have a hard time pinpointing why I enjoyed this book so much. I suppose it’s mostly because I like Kestrel, I like Arin and I like how their friendship developed. They’re both intelligent characters who slowly learn to respect and trust each other, in spite of their differences and the enmity between their nations. I also liked the setting and the contrast between the Valorian and Herrani cultures. How one was all about gaining power by expanding its borders, and one was a more peaceful culture centered around the arts. I was engrossed by The Winner’s Curse and yet I also feel like it could have been a stronger book. Let’s put it this way, this is a good introduction to the series and the story arc wraps up nicely but I feel like by the time the sequel comes out (maybe next year?), I would have forgotten most of the details in this one. It wasn’t mind-blowing but it was a pleasant and enjoyable read which I recommend to YA fans, even those who don’t usually read fantasy.

Other reviews:
Fantasy Cafe
Good Books and Good Wine
Ivy Book Bindings
Shae Has Left the Room
The Bookish Manicurist
Alexa Loves Books

15 thoughts on “The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

  1. “Let’s put it this way, this is a good introduction to the series and the story arc wraps up nicely but I feel like by the time the sequel comes out (maybe next year?), I would have forgotten most of the details in this one.”

    THIS. This is exactly how I felt after finishing this a few months ago. I remember putting it down and thinking “that was really good”, but as time passes I find it slipping from my mind more and more. I’ll still definitely check out the sequel though.

    • Michelle, good to know that you felt exactly the same way about this book! I was thinking that if the sequel was already out, I would read it right after this one while the story is still fresh in my mind. The Winner’s Curse was a satisfying read but also easy to forget. Fingers crossed that I remember enough about the first book when the sequel comes out.

  2. I absolutely agree with your thoughts on The Winner’s Curse! I liked it, thought the story was pretty good, and I’m definitely planning to read the next one. But this one wasn’t as spectacular to me as I would have wanted it to be! I’m hoping to be really blown away by the next one 🙂

    • Looks like we had a similar reaction! Like I replied to Michelle above, it’s good to know that others agree with how I felt about the book. I’m also curious about the sequel and like you, I’m hoping that it will be amazing.

  3. No surprise…but I love the cover~ While I’m not a fan of the text placement, it is still a very interesting design. Love how the hand is on the “R” which is shaped like a piano. Will look out for this book…seems right up my alley with the whole Historical Fantasy element 😀

    • I actually like the text design of the title. What I don’t like is that she’s wearing a ball gown in the picture. Kestrel wears formal gowns during the course of the novel but she’s not really into that kind of thing. So I was thinking a simpler outfit would have been a better representation of her character. I hope you get to read this soon and that you’ll enjoy it. 🙂

    • I’m glad I missed the hype then. My expectations would have been much higher if I was aware of the hype – either that or I would have ignored it completely (I tend to have that reaction to some titles that get way too much hype). You didn’t like the romance in this?

    • Janice, I would be interested to hear what you think of this. Nicole just started a YAckers thread about it if you want to check out what the others thought of the book.

      • Yeah, I saw that post, but haven’t looked at the replies. I don’t know if I want to get sucked into looking for a new book when I have so many piles of TBR surrounding me! 😀

      • Sigh, that’s always the problem. There isn’t enough time to read all of the books in our TBR piles! When it comes to new books, I usually grab them when it comes highly recommended by a trusted source.

  4. Pingback: June 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. I love your thoughts on this one, Chachic. I am glad it sucked you in and you had a good reading experience 🙂 I think I loved it more than you as , for me, it was the right book at the right time and also I had pretty low expectations for it so I was really surprised! I have actually reread some parts already, haha. I know I’ll def be hanging out for the sequel (when it comes — hopefully I’ll remember it by then 😉 )

    • Nomes, thanks again for recommending this! I don’t think I would have picked it up if you didn’t mention that it’s one of your favorite reads this year. Feel free to recommend books that you loved anytime. 😀 I also didn’t have any expectations coming into this because I missed the hype. I really did enjoy it, I just thought it could be stronger. Haha let’s see if we still remember this by the time the sequel comes out. 😛

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

