Chachic's Book Nook

Late Night Reading

15 Comments

I do most of my reading at night. I used to have a longer commute to work and I got to read on the train then. But since I moved, there are only a few stops from my current flat to the office so I don’t get to read while traveling. I barely get enough time to check messages on my phone during that train ride. There are times when I could squeeze in some reading time while having dinner but I read mostly after dinner and before going to bed. This is also the time when I try to do anything else that I need to do – like blogging or catching up on chores – but I tend to ignore those other tasks when I’m immersed in a good book. And when I’m in the middle of a wonderful book, I’m also willing to give up sleep and stay up late to have more reading time or to finish the book.

Kindle on bed

However, there are also instances when I stay up late to read not because the book is good but because I just want to get it over with. It may be because something has thrown me out of the story – an annoying character or a frustrating situation – and I just want to find out what happens in the end. Very rarely do I DNF a book. Plus there are times when I would rather not DNF because even if I’m not really enjoying the book, I still want to know how it ends. But then when I stay up then the next day rolls around and the lack of sleep affects me, I get irritated with myself for wasting precious sleeping time over a book that is less than amazing. The point of this random rambling is to ask the rest of you if you also encounter this situation. Does staying up late to read or finish a book always mean that you’re reading a good book? Or do you also stay up late just to get things over with, like I do? I’m curious to hear what you guys think.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

15 thoughts on “Late Night Reading

  1. I’m exactly like you. All my reading, blogging, etc. occurs between dinner and bed (at least during the school year-summer I read more and during the day). And yes, I will stay up late just to get a book I’m not really liking finished and out of my way. I do DNF more now than I used to though. I just have way too much I wan to read, but I usually look at other people’s reviews (and sometimes read the end) to figure out if I want to continue.

    • I’m really not much of a morning person, otherwise I could wake up early and do some reading then. But I LOVE sleeping in so I usually just stay up late if there’s something I want to do (like read or blog). Good to know that I’m not the only one who stays up late to finish a book just to get it out of the way. I really should DNF more often. I should also mark the ones I DNF on Goodreads because sometimes I try a couple of chapters and then just give up because I’m not in the mood for that particular book, but I don’t take note of it on Goodreads. I also check other people’s reviews when trying to decide if I want to finish a book.

  2. I only stay up when a book is really good and I have to keep flipping (or clicking) the pages. But when I’m feeling that a book is dragging or I’m just not interested, I don’t lose sleep over it. I figure the book will be there…and I’ll get to it eventually, lol.

    • I should be more like you! Only stay up late for books that are really good. It’s just that I get annoyed sometimes and I want to just finish a book that I’m not really enjoying so I can start a better one ASAP. But I should ask myself more often if it’s a good idea to lose sleep over a book that’s not that great.

  3. I squeeze in reading time during my commute to work as well as before going to bed. I really don’t like DNF a book because for some reason I get sad about it. LOL 🙂 Because I always think, gosh, somebody spent hours and hours writing this one too. And I feel more at ease writing a review about it than if I did not finish it and still write about it. Staying up late for a book really depends on my body. If it really says I have to go to sleep or I’ll be a zombie the next day, I give in to the urge and close the book I’m reading. 🙂 It will not matter if it’s good or bad. Hehe.

    • I used to have a longer commute – around 45 minutes one way – and I did a lot of reading on the train then. Hmm whenever a book doesn’t really work for me or if I DNF it, I still say that it can work for other readers. I think there’s no harm in admitting that a certain book wasn’t for you, we all have different tastes as readers. 🙂 If I DNF a book then I don’t write a review for it, just usually put it on my DNF shelf on Goodreads.

  4. I have the patience of a monk when it comes to finishing a book. I do get annoyed with a character pretty fast esp. if he/she is irritating or foolish, but this rarely becomes a reason for me not to finish a book. Like you, I read at night as well because it’s the only time of day where everybody leaves me alone, and I can fully immerse myself with the book I’m reading-be it good or bad. 🙂

    • I easily get annoyed by characters as well, to the point where I would stop reading to ask the character, “What are you doing?!” Often enough, I get over that irritation to finish the book although there are a handful of instances when I don’t want to invest too much time reading so I would skim instead, just to find out how things will end. I think a lot of us get our reading done at night because there are so many other things that we need to do during the day.

  5. I have always been hesitant to DNF a book! I don’t know, I just feel like I should give it another chance ‘coz the story might give a little twist a few pages after. But lately, I learned to let go (haha!) and to plainly just don’t waste my time on something that doesn’t make me happy anymore. Applies not just in books but in real life, too, don’t ya think? 🙂

    • Me too, I always want to give the book a chance to redeem itself. But then I also don’t want to experience a reading slump because I’m not enjoying what I’m reading. So you’re right, it’s better to learn to let go when something isn’t working for us. 😛

  6. I can relate, as I do basically all of my reading at night. And after work is also when I do everything else that I’m supposed to do during the day, so it can get a bit hectic. I’m not so good at ignoring other things in favor of reading, so that usually either means I don’t read much some nights, or I end up staying up far too late.
    I’m actually pretty good about not staying up too late if I know I have a busy day the next day, though. I used to think I was one of those readers who had to finish a chapter or at least a page before putting a book down, but I am actually fine with stopping in the middle of a paragraph. The main reason why is because I cannot stay up too late – for good or bad books – is because it’s just too painful to go through a full work day on too little sleep haha. And then I’m just so tired when the weekends come around. Someday, though, I hope I can read late into the night once more.

    • LOL Amanda, your blog’s name basically reporesents this discussion. I wish I was as good as you are when it comes to doing everything I’m supposed to. I feel like I’m the opposite, I’m more likely to ignore chores and other tasks if I’m in the middle of a good book.

      I’m also not very good at being more conscious about staying late. I would stay up late to read and then just let myself deal with the consequences the next day – which is not good because I ALWAYS have a hard time getting out of bed in the mornings. Plus if I don’t get enough sleep, I get super sleepy in the office the next day. Like I would find myself nodding off in front of my computer. I usually just get a cup of mocha when that happens, it helps wake me up.

  7. I honestly only ever stay up late to read a book that I can’t put down because I’m loving it! I always feel justified in having less sleep when I know I’ve spent those hours immersed in a story and world + hanging out with characters I really enjoyed. I don’t think I’ve ever done the second thing, which is reading something to get it over with. I used to find it hard to DNF too, but these days, I’m becoming a pro!

    • I really should make a rule of staying up ONLY for books that I’m really enjoying. So the next day I can just tell myself that it’s worth the tiredness because the book that I was reading was a good one. I should be more of a DNF pro as well, I usually give the book 50-100 pages before I decide if it’s something that’s not working for me.

  8. Pingback: Ten Book-Related Problems I Have | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

