Chachic's Book Nook

#ArmchairBEA 2014: Young Adult

17 Comments

Our final genre of discussion is one that we know is a popular one these days: books for the younger crowd, from middle grade to young adult. If you do not normally talk about this genre on your site, maybe you want to feature books that you remember impacting you during this stage in your life. If this is where you tend to gravitate, maybe you want to list your favorites, make recommendations based on genres, or feature some titles that you are excited to read coming later this year.

I read a lot of YA books so I’m half-tempted to just write “too many too mention” for this ArmchairBEA topic. But then where’s the fun in that? That wouldn’t enable me to share some of my favorite titles and discuss them with other bloggers. So I’ve put together lists divided by category/genres of YA novels that I’ve truly enjoyed reading:

Epic Fantasy
Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner
The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley
Pegasus by Robin McKinley
Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith
Graceling and Fire by Kristin Cashore
Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
Sabriel by Garth Nix
A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge
Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow
Northlander by Meg Burden
Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Alternate History/Historical Fiction
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
The Lion Hunters series by Elizabeth Wein
A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson
The Reluctant Heiress by Eva Ibbotson
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Urban Fantasy
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Black Dog by Rachel Neumeier

Fairy Tale Retelling
Beauty by Robin McKinley
The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Contemporary
I Do by Elizabeth Chandler
Saving June by Hannah Harrington
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman
Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols
Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols
Easy by Tammara Webber
My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Aussie YA
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta
Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley
All I Ever Wanted by Vikki Wakefield
Touchstone trilogy by Andrea K. Host

WeLoveYA

I probably forgot some titles while putting this together, maybe I’ll edit the post when I remember anything else. Do you have any recommendations for me based on the books I listed here? What about the rest of you, what are some of the MG or YA titles that you’ve enjoyed reading?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “#ArmchairBEA 2014: Young Adult

  1. I just read Howl’s for the first time this year and was surprised by how much I liked it!

    • That was the first Diana Wynne Jones book that I read and I think it’s a good introduction to her work. Have you read the companion novels? There’s also a Hayao Miyazaki movie based on it – it’s very different from the book but I still loved it.

  2. There are so many things I love on the list that I’m writing down the ones I haven’t read.

  3. I have some less known authors/books on my Armchair BEA Day 5 post.

  4. At first glance, I have read most of these so you are SAFE…but if I look through here and end up adding anything to my TBR, THEN YOU ARE IN SERIOUS TROUBLE.

  5. Pingback: #ArmchairBEA 2014: Wrap Up | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Code Name Verity was my favorite novel that I read last year. And I loved Anna and the French Kiss (although it didn’t hurt at all that I read it on the plane ride home from Paris).

    I think you might like Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles — futuristic (by not quite dystopian) fairy tale re-tellings. Also, Scott Westerfeld, particularly the series that begins with Leviathan because it’s great alternate history.

    • Code Name Verity was one of my favorite reads in 2012. That’s so cool that you read Anna and French Kiss on your flight home from Paris. I got to visit Paris (for the first time ever!) last month. 🙂 If you’re interested in contemporary romance set in Paris, I recommend Laura Florand’s Amour et Chocolat series.

      The first book in the Lunar Chronicles is Cinder, right? I’ve had that on my wishlist for a while now. And I have a copy of Leviathan back home in Manila but I haven’t had a chance to read it. I should try and grab it the next time I go there.

  7. I haven’t tried those last two Aussie books but now I feel like I must!!! 😀

    • All I Ever Wanted by Vikki Wakefield and Touchstone by Andrea K. Host? Yes, both are excellent reads. The former is contemporary and the latter is a sci-fi trilogy. Let me know what you think when you get to read them! 😛

  8. What a great selection of books. I’ve read quite a few of them, but whenever I see Code Name verity on a list, I pull out the box of kleenex. That book made me cry so much.

    • Me too! I was crying while reading the last few chapters of Code Name Verity. I’ve read Rose Under Fire as well but that didn’t make me cry. Have you read EWein’s Lion Hunters series? I love those books.

  9. Jellicoe Road is one of my faves as well. There’s a lot of books on your lists that are my favorites. The ones I have not read I will have to check out because it seems as though we have some similar tastes. Also, I love your blog header, so lovely! Did you draw it yourself?

    • Jellicoe Road is SO GOOD! Love Melina Marchetta’s writing. Yay, that’s good that we have similar favorites. Hope you enjoy reading the recommendations that you’ll get from this list.

      Thanks, I’m glad you like it! I wish I was talented enough to draw something like my header. A friend of mine who is a graphic artist worked on it. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

