Chachic's Book Nook

#ArmchairBEA 2014: Novellas and Short Stories

19 Comments

ArmchairBEA 2014

Now it is time to give a little love to those little stories in your life. Share your love for your favorite shorts of any form. What is a short story or novella that doesn’t get the attention that it deserves? Recommend to readers what shorts you would recommend they start with. How about listing some short story anthologies based upon genres or authors?

I don’t know why but I’m not that much of a short story reader. I usually only read short stories that are connected to a series that I’m following or a book that I’ve read. Whenever I buy an anthology, I end up reading just a few short stories in it. I love reading novellas though. I think some stories are just the perfect length for a novella. I like how satisfying some novellas can be because you can read them in one sitting. Novellas are also a good way to get introduced to an author if you’ve never read any of his/her books. Some novellas that I think deserved more attention are:

Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra – A light and fun read, this is still my favorite Filipino chick lit title.

Silent Blade and Silver Shark by Ilona Andrews – Ilona and Gordon are in my auto-buy list because I love the Kate Daniels series but also because everything that they write is awesome, as proven by these two sci-fi novellas that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. I reread both of these just the other month.

A Rose in Winter by Laura Florand – A delightful Christmas romance set in Grasse, France. One that I’ve also reread just this month.

The Story Guy by Mary Ann Rivers – Short and intense, I was pleasantly surprised at how sweet the romance was in this novella.

Big Boy by Ruthie Knox – This was my introduction to Ruthie’s romances and it made me want to read the rest of her books.

Fairy Tale Fail_SummitSilent BladeSilver SharkNo Place Like HomeThe Story GuyBig Boy

I find it funny that most of these titles are contemporary romance. I guess it’s just nice to curl up with a good romance when you feel like unwinding after work or during the weekend. What about the rest of you, do you enjoy reading short stories or novellas? What are some of your favorites?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

19 thoughts on “#ArmchairBEA 2014: Novellas and Short Stories

  1. Thanks for the recs! I haven’t really given many short stories or novellas a chance outside of what I read for high school and college and the shorts that are part of series that I have read. But I do love a good contemporary romance!

    • Oh yes, we used to read a lot of short stories for school as well. I remember enjoying some of those. Maybe I should unearth my copies of them back home. I hope you give some of the romance titles I mentioned a try. 🙂

  2. I will put Rose in Winter on my December reading list (note to self–start making seasonally appropriate reading lists…..). I have been seeing you all loving her books, and am tempted……….

    • LOL I’m sorry I keep going on and on about her books. I get like that when I’m very enthusiastic about an author’s work. I hope you get to try her Amour et Chocolat titles as well.

  3. Hallo, Hallo again!

    🙂 Wicked sweet, I am making my second visit via Team4 of the #cheerREADERS on behalf of #ArmChairBEA! 🙂 I do not often get to read novellas OR short stories as like you, I cannot say that they are my ‘go to’ reading ventures, but I must say, they are starting to warm up to my sensibility! The ones that I have appreciated the most this past year were included in a few fantasy & science fiction anthologies:

    The previous anthologies I have read are:

    Chronicles of Ave: Vol. 1 by Stephen Zimmer – an extension of his Fires of Eden series where he goes into more details with some of the characters or enlarges the backstories. As I had not yet read his Fires of Eden series I opted to read this anthology as an introduction! High fantasy & heroic fantasy would be how I describe the stories inside!

    Moments in Millennia: a Fantasy Anthology edited by Penny Freeman – this is a collection of different shorts wrapped up in one volume by different contributing authors! My absolute favourite was a short called “Time out of Mind” by Michael Cross! I would consider that a time travel / alternative history fantasy short! You will not be disappointed!

    A Chimerical World: Tales of the Seelie Court edited by Scott M. Sandridge – the latest anthology I have read which features fantasy shorts within the realm of *faeries!* I am not as familiar with faerie in fiction (I have seen more in motion picture!) which is what encouraged me to request this one! Several stories moved me, stirred a curiosity, or left me a bit hungry to know more bits related to the story itself! You’ll have to click over to see what I mean!

    If you click-over to my blog per title, you will find the stories broken down into the ones I truly appreciated the most! I am about to read another fantasy anthology in June (on the 22nd) entitled: Hero’s Best Friend which is a fantasy anthology of stories from animal companions! Being a girl who adores cats, (and all animals truly!) I could not find myself passing that up to read! I do like short story inspirational fiction (which I completely forgot to mention on the other blogs!), of which would include “Heartsong Presents”. A line of stories which used to be independent from Harlequin but was taken over by them last year.

    I wanted to share one bit of encouragement: the blessing of an anthology isn’t that you get to read & love ALL the stories contained inside but rather that you might elect to find one or two authors that truly resonate with you directly! Those are the authors you can continue to seek out and read more of as their offerings become available. At least this is how I find reading an anthology of short stories is like a hidden treasure chest! You never know which story / author is going to be the hidden gem!

    • Again, thank you for stopping by and leaving such a thoughtful comment on my ArmchairBEA post! I love that you wrote a list of your recommended fantasy anthologies, complete with descriptions. 🙂 I’ll check them out and see if any of them stand out for me. It’s funny that you mentioned that you discover authors through the anthologies that you read because I feel like I’m the other way around, I would usually only purchase an anthology if one of the short stories in there is written by an author I follow. I go and read that story right away and then would only continue with the others in the anthology if I’m in the mood for it.

  4. I don’t know if I could take a full dose of Mary Ann Rivers. She’s probably safest in novellas because she tends to do things to my heart. The Story Guy and Snowfall are so beautiful it hurts.

  5. You know my thoughts on BIG BOY. 😉

    Recently I really did enjoy Rosamund Hodge’s GILDED ASHES. Such a great twist on the Cinderella story.

    And Milan’s THE GOVERNESS AFFAIR is a big fave.

    • My Big Boy review has that Angie recommendation stamp. 😛

      I have Gilded Ashes on my Kindle and I’m pretty sure I’m going to enjoy reading it since Cruel Beauty was such a lovely read for me.

      I read Milan’s The Governess Affair and I didn’t love it as much as I was expecting. 😦

      • Oh dear. I am sorry. I’m not sure why that one and I click so well. But we do.

        Let me know what you think of Gilded Ashes when you get to it!

      • I really don’t know why I didn’t love it. Maybe I’m just not a big historical romance fan? The only ones I’ve loved so far are written by Joanna Bourne.

        Will do! 🙂

  6. Pingback: #ArmchairBEA 2014: Wrap Up | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. I am pretty okay with novellas and short stories. I just finished reading Just One Night by Gayle Forman and LOVED it. I also like the Cosmo novellas published by Harlequin.

    ALSO! I totally need to read Ruthie Knox asap.

    • Oooh Just One Night! I still haven’t read Just One Year, I should get on that. What are some titles of Cosmo novellas that you’ve enjoyed?

      Yes, you totally need to check out Ruthie Knox. Also Mary Ann Rivers and Laura Florand. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

