Top Ten Books About Friendships

Top Ten Tuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I love this week’s topic because friendship is a theme that I would happily read about at any given point in time. This reminded me that I did a friendship post a few years ago and I should have probably kept doing that as a yearly thing but it slept my mind. Anyway, in no particular order, here are some books that have strong themes of friendship that I have enjoyed reading:

My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger – The two main characters formed a bond strong enough that they wanted to be brothers (from different parents) instead of best friends. Such a sweet story.

Saving Francesca and The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta – Melina Marchetta’s stories are pretty intense, including the friendships that are formed in her books.

Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow – I loved how resilient Otter, Kestrel and Cricket’s friendship was and how it never wavered even when two of the trio became a couple.

Touchstone trilogy by Andrea K. Host – Cass felt so alone and homesick at the start of the book, it was a relief when she started making friends among the Setari. It’s also great how her relationship with younger kids developed in the latter part of the series.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein – The ultimate story about female friendship in the midst of war. Kiss me, Hardy!

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak – Liesel has a different kind of friendship with both Rudy and Max but both are a significant part of the story.

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – I think most of us would be familiar with how constant Harry, Ron and Hermione’s friendship is from start to finish.

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – Beautiful writing in this book about Tiger Lily, told from Tinker Bell’s point of view, who has stood by Tiger Lily’s side through thick and thin.

The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater – The boys and Blue may not always get along with each other but they’re very loyal and would go to great lengths to protect their friends.

Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews – Kate tried to be a lone wolf but it didn’t exactly work for her. Love her friendship with her BFF Andrea and how snarky they are. Also really like Kate’s friendship with other members of the Pack like Jim, Dolittle and even Mahon.

What about you, what are your favorite books that are about friendships?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Books About Friendships

  1. Sorrow’s Knot is a wonderful pick! I can’t believe I forgot about that one. I loved the friendship between Otter, Kestrel, and Cricket and how not even romantic challenges could not come between them. Definitely agree about Harry Potter and Code Name Verity.

    I’ve heard great things about Stiefvater’s newest series, and knowing there’s such a strong friendship element makes me want to bump them up on my TBR list.

    • I was browsing through other Top Ten Tuesday posts and I also can’t believe I forgot some of the titles that other bloggers have listed. I really enjoyed the friendship in Sorrow’s Knot, especially since the characters had such difficult challenges in life. Yes, the friendship in Maggie Stiefvater’s latest series is a significant theme in the story. I hope you get to read them soon.

  2. The friendships in The Book Thief are so lovely. I can’t believe I forgot that one! I still need to read Sorrow’s Knot, Tiger Lily and more Marchetta. Excellent list!

    • I need to watch the movie version of The Book Thief! I haven’t found time to do it yet. A definite yes to more Marchetta. I hope you also enjoy reading Sorrow’s Knot and Tiger Lily, which were both lovely reads.

  3. Harry Potter is, for sure, one of the books with the best portrayals of friendship I’ve ever read! I loved the various friendships within the series — especially the “golden trio”. I also love the friendship in the Percy Jackson series, and a new favorite is the friendship in Open Road Summer!

    • Yes, Harry Potter has so many friendships within all seven books. I read the first Percy Jackson book before watching the movie but I wasn’t really a fan of it so I didn’t continue with the series. I have seen you raving about Open Road Summer. πŸ˜› I have it in my Kindle.

  4. I’ve not read most of the bools on your list but for me, definitely Harry Potter for sure! And also The Book Thief, especially the different sorts of friendship she had with both Rudy and Max…it was very beautiful.

    • Glad you agree with Harry Potter and The Book Thief! I hope you get to read the other books in this list. Looking back, I realize that almost all of them are YA except for Kate Daniels.

  5. You know, I keep meaning to read Tiger Lily and your post made me want to read it. πŸ˜€
    Totes agree on the Saving Francesca and Piper’s son, and my most excellent year (love that book)

    • I feel bad that I didn’t get to review Tiger Lily because it really was a lovely book. I hope you get to read it soon! Yay, another reader who agrees with My Most Excellent Year – that’s such an underrated novel.

  6. Pingback: My Favorite Top Ten Topics | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

