A Rose in Winter by Laura Florand

No Place Like HomeA Rose in Winter by Laura Florand is a novella in the No Place Like Home anthology. It’s set during Christmastime in Grasse, in the south of France. I read and loved it last December but wasn’t able to review it. I recently reread it on my flight back to Singapore because I wanted to be reminded of Aix-en-Provence and this is the closest that I could get because I haven’t read any novels set in Aix. At least Aix and Grasse are in the same region!

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Allegra Caldron knew the rule never to talk to strangers. But on a cold winter night in Provence, she breaks that rule – and more – with an irresistible man. Raoul Rosier seems thrillingly dangerous, yet why does Allegra feel so safe with him – even when she believes he’s a thief?

If Laura Florand’s Amour et Chocolat series is all about chocolate then her La Vie en Roses series is all about perfume. Each of the La Vie en Roses books feature a Rosier cousin. The Rosier clan own and control a significant portion of the world’s perfume business through their company. A Rose in Winter is Raoul’s story. Raoul has spent several years in Africa, establishing his family’s foothold in that region, and is itching to settle back home in Provence where the familiar scents of lavender, rose and jasmine will calm his restless soul. Laura’s writing style paints a vivid picture of the settings of her stories. She makes Grasse seem like such a charming and beautiful place. It’s not surprising that Allegra fell in love with it and decided to stay a while. Given that A Rose in Winter is a novella instead of a full-length novel, the romance gets developed pretty quickly. After all, Allegra’s mom said it best:

Quote from A Rose in Winter

What was Allegra supposed to do when she meets someone she can’t resist? I still felt that there was enough character development in the short span of time that Allegra and Raoul got to know each other. It wasn’t just their attraction that was the focus of the story but also their insecurities and how those affect their budding romance. I loved the Christmas setting of the story and how we get an idea of what a traditional Provencal Christmas is like. I liked how santons, terracotta nativity scene figurines that are only available in Provence, play an important role in the story. I also enjoyed seeing a little bit of the Rosier clan during their Christmas dinner. A Rose in Winter is a delightful installment in the La Vie en Roses series. I really can’t wait to read the next books and find out more about the other members of the Rosier family. Similar to Laura’s other books, there are hints of a particular fairy tale included within the story. Part of the fun in reading Laura’s books is trying to determine what fairy tale is being alluded to so I’ll let the rest of you discover that for yourselves. Prior to reading this, I wasn’t aware that Grasse is the perfume capital of the world. Now I want to visit the place and immerse myself in the world of artisan perfumeries. I ended A Rose in Winter on a happy sigh, dreaming of flying back to France to visit Grasse this time. I would probably end up buying several bottles of perfume if that ever happens.

Aix-en-Provence - santons

Santons in Aix-en-Provence

12 thoughts on “A Rose in Winter by Laura Florand

  1. Oooo, I’ve never read anything by Laura Florand, but I’m thinking I should. I actually really like romance novellas. They’re often short and sweet. I’m definitely going to look into the La Vie en Roses series.

    A Rose in Winter seemed like the perfect book for your plane ride.

    • Quinn, you’ve never read any of Laura Florand’s books? You should definitely try her Amour et Chocolat series – you can start either with the All’s Fair in Love and Chocolate novella or The Chocolate Thief novel. That series is SO GOOD, even non-romance readers have enjoyed it. πŸ˜€ although yes, go ahead and try her La Vie en Roses series too.

      Romances are good reads while traveling, right? During plane or train rides or while waiting at the airport.

  2. Ooh, A Rose in Winter sounds delightful! I don’t generally read novellas unless they’re part of a series I’m already loving, but you’ve made me really curious about this one. Plus, I love that quote you included from it too.

    • I enjoy reading novellas because I like how I can go through them quickly. A Rose in Winter is a good introduction to the series, if you want to give it a try. πŸ™‚ Love that quote too, I’ve shared it with non-blogger friends as well.

  3. Pingback: #ArmchairBEA 2014: Novellas and Short Stories | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: May 2014 Recap | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Amour et Florand: How did you discover Laura’s books? | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Once Upon a Rose by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: A Wish Upon Jasmine by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: 2014 Christmas Reads | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: 2015 Christmas Reads | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Cover Reveal: A Crown of Bitter Orange by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

