Chachic's Book Nook

Europe 2014: Milan Update

7 Comments

Ciao! I always thought “ciao” meant goodbye but apparently, it also means “hello”. The last city that we visited during our Europe 2014 trip was Milan. From Paris to Barcelona to Aix-en-Provence and then on to Italy. How I wish we had time (and resources) to explore other cities in Italy – I would love to visit Rome, Venice and Florence. We chose Milan for practical reasons, the tickets were cheaper if we fly from there back to Southeast Asia. We only had a brief stay – two nights and one full day – in Milan. I’m a big fan of Italian food so of course, I loved the dishes that we got to try! We also visited Duomo di Milano, the city’s famous Gothic cathedral and also the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, which is right beside it. The latter is one of the oldest shopping malls in the world.

Books I’ve read set in Italy:
Rome: Antonio & Carrie (Love Stories) by Rachel Hawthorne
The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke
Angels & Demons by Dan Brown

Books set in Italy that are in my TBR pile:
Wish You Were Italian by Kristin Rae

The scenery was beautiful on the train ride from Aix-en-Provence to Milan. I’m hoping that I could go back to France so I could visit Nice, Cannes, Eze and Grasse. Here are some shots of Cannes that I took from the train:

Cannes Cannes2

Milano Centrale is the grandest train station that I’ve seen so far:
Milano Centrale2 Milano Centrale

Here’s Duomo di Milano:
Duomo di Milano Duomo di Milano2

And here’s the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, a lovely and historic mall where I wasn’t able to buy anything because all the shops are so fancy:
Vittorio Emanuele Vittorio Emanuele2

Milan also has such a nice post office. Unfortunately, it was closed when we passed by. It would have been great if we were able to get some philatelic stamps.
Milan Poste Milan Poste2

Last but not the least, some pictures of Italian food. I loved the prosciutto with melon, ravioli, ossobuco and tiramisu. And the coffee!
Italian food Italian food Italian food Italian food

I hope you’ve all enjoyed browsing through the pictures I’ve posted. Going through pictures is making me want to go back. Fingers crossed! In the meantime, I’ll console myself by reading books set in Europe. Please let me know if you have any recommendations that you think I’ll enjoy.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

7 thoughts on “Europe 2014: Milan Update

  1. I ate gelato once (sometimes twice) a day when I was in Italy. It’s a good thing you do so much walking when you go to Europe, because all the food is hard to resist.

    • Yes, I couldn’t resist getting sweets and desserts while I was in Europe. It was balanced out by all the walking around and running up and down stairs to chase trains (while dragging our suitcases with us). I should have mentioned that my feet were tired at the end of every single day we were there!

  2. Europe has such beautiful architecture! I feel like I’d just be struck dumb by the beauty of everything around me. And I totally would stuff my face with gelato constantly if I visited Italy… I mean, WHEN I visit Italy. Your trip looks amazing! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    • Alexa, I kind of felt that way when we first arrived in Paris. Everywhere I looked, there were old, historic buildings. I kept pointing and saying, “Look at that! How pretty!” 😛

  3. Pingback: Best of 2014 | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: I’m Off to Experience Life as Karou | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Europe 2015: Kutna Hora Update | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

