Europe 2014: Aix-en-Provence Update

Bonjour again! We started our trip in Paris then traveled by train to Barcelona and then back again to France for a few days in Aix-en-Provence, a city in the region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. I loved Aix-en-Provence and it’s probably my favorite city out of the four that we visited mainly because I felt like I could live there. I like the small city charm of the place and how everything is within walking distance, although some places take a bit of a walk. It’s also only 30 minutes away from a big city, Marseille (which sadly, we didn’t get to explore). I liked that we were able to stumble upon quaint shops just by walking all over Aix. Plus, there were some pretty good restaurants which served good food at more affordable prices compared to Paris. It was expected that Musee Granet would have paintings of Cezanne since he lived in Aix but we were surprised that they also had paintings by Ingres, Van Gogh, Monet and Picasso.

I don’t think there are that many books specifically set in Aix-en-Provence so I’m broadening the scope to the whole region of Provence. Would love to read more books set in the south of France.

Books I’ve read set in Provence:
La Vie en Roses series by Laura Florand – Turning Up the Heat, The Chocolate Rose, A Rose in Winter

Books set in Provence that are in my TBR pile:
Madam, Will You Talk? by Mary Stewart

Aix has been referred to as the city of a thousand fountains and yes, we came across a lot of them:
Aix-en-Provence - La Rotonde Aix-en-Provence - mossy fountain Aix-en-Provence - four dolphins fountain Aix-en-Provence - modern fountain Aix-en-Provence - fountain at night Aix-en-Provence - more fountains

Cours Mirabeau is the main road of Aix, framed by plane-trees on both sides. There are cafes, pastry shops, souvenir stores and old houses along this road.

Aix-en-Provence - Cours Mirabeau Aix-en-Provence - Cours Mirabeau2

I found a picture posted on Tumblr of the facade of Bibliothèque Méjanes so we decided to look it up while we were there because we were curious about the giant books in front of the library.

Aix-en-Provence - Bibliothèque Méjanes Aix-en-Provence - Bibliothèque Méjanes2

Some of the shops we loved:
Aix-en-Provence - Expressions Aix-en-Provence - Place aux Huiles Aix-en-Provence - real chocolate Aix-en-Provence - more chocolates

We discovered Le Bistro Latin on our first night, just by wandering and checking out menus of the restaurants. We loved the food so much that we decided to return on our last night, and get bigger courses.

Aix-en-Provence - Le Bistro Latin Aix-en-Provence - Le Bistro Latin2 Aix-en-Provence - first dinner Aix-en-Provence - last dinner

Lavender and roses:
Aix-en-Provence - lavender Aix-en-Provence - roses

We were planning to travel to Grasse, the perfume capital of France (and the world?) but it’s too far away from Aix for a day trip. Good thing artisan soaps and perfumes made from Grasse are available in Aix.

Aix - perfumes from Grasse

I feel like Aix is a hidden gem of a city because it’s not as well-known as other cities in the south of France. I’m so glad we included Aix in our itinerary. Have you been to Aix? Know of any novels set in Aix or the Provence region that you think I might enjoy?

13 thoughts on “Europe 2014: Aix-en-Provence Update

    • Thanks, April! I hope you get to visit Aix too! It’s such a lovely place, I think more people should know about it. Giant books and fountains are good incentives. 😀

    • I’ve never lived in a walkable city/town. Both Manila and Singapore aren’t liked that. I think it would be an interesting experience to live in a small and quiet city, although I also wonder if I’ll get bored.

      Wow, they filmed the movie version of her book at Versailles? I checked out the link that you shared. The movie has Pierce Brosnan in it and they were shooting in the Hall of Mirrors. That’s pretty awesome. Maybe I should read this book so I can watch the movie when it comes out!

  1. Pingback: Europe 2014: Milan Update | Chachic's Book Nook

    • We visited only two cities in France: Paris and Aix-en-Provence. But yes, we went to some beautiful places within those two cities. 😀 Have you tried reading Laura Florand’s books?

    • One of the reasons why I loved that we included Aix in our itinerary is because it’s not a place that’s usually included in people’s travel plans. 🙂 If/when I go back to Europe, I would want to visit another small city like Aix.

  2. Pingback: Amour et Florand: How did you discover Laura’s books? | Chachic's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: Best of 2014 | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: I’m Off to Experience Life as Karou | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Europe 2015: Kutna Hora Update | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

